Subject Support Guide For Psychology And Counselling
Welcome to the subject page for Psychology and Counselling. We provide access to thousands of high quality texts and journal for psychology at the University of East London.
This guide includes information on key resources, literature searching strategies (both in video and written formats), support with referencing and guidance on using Google Scholar.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
ISBN: 9780890425572Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Indigenous Research Methodologies by Call Number: 305. 800721 CHIISBN: 9781483333472Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Call Number: 001.42 BOOISBN: 9781529711844Publication Date: 2022
Qualitative Psychology: a Practical Guide to Research Methods by Call Number: 150. 721 QUAISBN: 9781529616446Publication Date: 2024
The Complete Handbook of Coaching by Call Number: 158.3 COMISBN: 9781529604887Publication Date: 2023
List of recommended databases which can also be found on A-Z Database List via the library homepage.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowContains over 3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations across all fields of psychology. It also covers psychological aspects of disciplines such as counselling, coaching, education, psychiatry, sociology, linguistics and business. It covers over 2,500 journals from across the world, with content ranging from the 1800s to the present day.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database covering nearly every area of academic study. It includes more than 8,500 full-text journals, 7,300 of which are peer-reviewed, and abstracts from over 12,500 journals and 13,000 other publications, including reports and conference proceedings.
- PEP This link opens in a new window
The PEP Archive 1 Version 13release contains the complete text and illustrations of 51 premier journals in psychoanalysis, 96 classic psychoanalytic books, and the full-text and Editorial Notes of the 24 volumes of the Standard EditionComplete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, as well as the 18 volumeGerman FreudStandard Edition "Gesammelte Werke."
- Proquest One Business This link opens in a new windowProQuest OB is a business and management database with worldwide coverage. It contains articles from thousands of business journals and newspapers, plus company and industry reports. It covers all aspects of business but especially management, finance, accounting, economics, human resources and marketing.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowA full-text business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,800 serials.Provides full-text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database covering nearly every area of academic study. It includes more than 8,500 full-text journals, 7,300 of which are peer-reviewed, and abstracts from over 12,500 journals and 13,000 other publications, including reports and conference proceedings.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totalling over 880,000 records.
A journal publication is a collection of articles that have been evaluated (peer-reviewed), or report of an original research in a particular field (Morris, et. al., 2013).
Journal publications are useful across all levels of study, whether you are just about to start, or have done a research before and trying to find a gap in a particular area of research. This is how you can view and access UEL's collection of journal publication from the library homepage:
Journal publications and articles can also be found by using one of the databases.
American Psychological Association (APA) - APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.
Asian Association of Social Psychology | » Publications (asiansocialpsych.org) - The Asian Association of Social Psychology promotes research on Asian traditions, philosophies, and ideas that have scientific merit and practical applications, and expands the boundary, substance, and direction of social psychology by supplementing and integrating Western psychology’s focus on intra-individual processes with a broader and more holistic view from culture and society.
The British Psychological Society (BPS), Research Digest - Research Digest features reviews and commentary of the latest research in Psychology.
British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (BACP) - The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy is the professional association for members of the counselling professions in the UK.
Black and Minority Ethnics in Psychiatry & Psychology Network (BiPP Network) - The BiPP Network prioritises and advances the representation of Black and Minority Ethnic backgrounds within psychiatry and psychology. The website includes a blog with contributions from members of the community.
The Black, African and Asian Therapy Network (BAATN) - Books that focus on Black, African, Caribbean and South Asian issues in psychology, counselling, psychotherapy and mental welbeing.
Educational Psychology Research and Practice (EPRaP) - Educational Psychology Research and Practice is an open access periodical published twice a year by the School of Psychology, University of East London. It offers a forum for informed debate and discussion of Educational Psychology research and training as well as a wider focus on issues of social justice and civic engagement in applied psychological practice.
Psychology.org - Browseable collection of psychology links.
Psychotherapists and Counsellors for Social Responsibility (PCSR) - PCSR is a not-for-profit organisation that commits to locating counselling and psychotherapy in its social, political, ecological, and economic context.
Simply Psychology - Designed specifically for psychology undergraduates.
What is 'Grey Literature'?
They are ‘information produced on all levels of government, academia, business, and industry in electronic and print formats, where publishing is NOT the primary activity of the producing body’ (GreyNet International, 2023)
Examples of grey literature are: theses and dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, government proposals (Green papers), data sets, statistics, clinical trials
Grey literature resources (This list is by no means exhaustive.)
1. Theses and dissertations
2. Conference papers and proceedings
3. Clinical Trials
Further reading:
Bonato, S. (2018) 'What is Grey Literature?', S. Bonato Searching the Grey Literature. Maryland: Rowman and Littlefield, pp. 1-32.
Paez, A. (2017). Gray Literature: An Important Resource in Systematic Reviews. Journal of Evidence-Based Medicine, 10(3), 233-240. https://doi.org/10.1111/jebm.12266
Pappas, C., Williams, I. (2011). Grey Literature: Its Emerging Importance. Journal of Hospital Librarianship, 11(3), 228-234. https://doi.org/10.1080/15323269.2011.587100