Welcome to the subject page for Psychology and Counselling. We provide access to thousands of high quality texts and journal for psychology at the University of East London. This guide highlights some of the key resources and support available to you.
Databases provide references, abstracts and, in some cases, the full text of journal articles. A complete A-Z list of all databases is available on the library website.
Below are the main databases for psychology, counselling, coaching and related subjects. For tips and advice on searching databases, see the videos in the left-hand column.
There are plenty of great psychology-related websites out there. Here is a small selection of some of the key ones:
Open Access (OA) is a term applied to research outputs (articles, presentations, conference papers etc.) that have been made publicly available without restriction, providing another route to access academic content. Here is a small selection of some useful OA resources:
Your module reading list should be available on Moodle. You can then use Library search to find the availability of books and e-books, as well as to look for further reading.
The library also holds a wide range of reference and study skills books for psychology. Here are just a few examples (look on Library Search for lots more):
Dictionary of Psychology 150.3 COR
A student's dictionary of psychology 150.3 HAY
Dictionary of counselling 361.0603 FEL
Biographical dictionary of psychology 150.992 SHE
Encyclopedia of psychology 150.3 ENC
Study skills for psychology students by Latto and Latto 150.711 LAT + available as an ebook
Study skills for psychology: succeeding in your degree by Freeman and Stone 150.711 FRE + available as an ebook
Statistics without maths for psychology by Dancey and Reidy 150.727 DAN + available as an ebook
A short guide to writing about psychology by Dana Dunn 808.06615 DUN + available as an ebook
Doing a Systematic Review: A Student's Guide by Boland, Cherry and Dickson 001.42 DOI
Research methods in psychology by Howitt 150.721 HOW (ebook)
Successful qualitative research : a practical guide for beginners by Braun and Clarke 300.72 CLA
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Booth, Sutton, Clowes and Martyn-St James 001.42 BOO
Thematic analysis : a practical guide by Braun and Clarke 300.721 BRA
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style - 808.06615 PUB
If you are a postgraduate student thinking of using reference management software, we provide support for both Zotero and Mendeley. Below are quick guides for getting started with each. If you are using Zotero and are having some technical issues, please direct them to the Zotero Forums which are very active and supportive.
Getting started on Mendeley [video to come].