Sports Science

Subject Support Guide for Sports Science

Welcome to the subject page for Sports Science These pages highlight key resources which can be used to support your research in Sports Science.

Finding Sports Science Research

Databases provide an interface that enables you to search thousands of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and more. They will include either the full text of journal articles or the article abstracts.

A complete A-Z list of all databases​ is available on the library website.

Databases

• BioDigital
Explore anatomy, conditions and treatments in interactive 3D on the BioDigital Human Platform

• EBSCO - Academic Search Ultimate

• Academic Search Complete covers nearly every area of academic study. It includes more than 8,500 full-text journals, 7,300 of which are peer-reviewed.

• EBSCO - SportDiscus

• Over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.

• Lexis

  Provides access to UK Newspapers

• ProQuest

  ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

• PubMed

  Provides access to bibliographic information in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences and life sciences. It includes the database MEDLINE which contains over 15 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's.

• Science Direct

  Science Direct offers access to the full text of more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science including the social sciences.

• Scopus

  Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.