Sports Science

This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed.This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.New to this Edition:- Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments- New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays- More emphasis on reflective learning

Packed with study tips, activities, templates and quotes from students, this is your essential guide to university, showing you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Effectively work with others in groups, seminars and workshops Write assignments and pass exams with flying colours Build your CV and plan your next steps after graduation. New to this edition is content on how to thrive at university, learn and research digitally, and how to develop your employability skills.The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. 

Starting university can be a daunting prospect, as students come to grips with new ways of working, learning and thinking. Studying sport at university poses particular challenges, with students often engaged in playing or coaching sport alongside their studies and having unconventional working patterns. Study Skills for Sport Studies is the only complete guide to degree-level study to be written specifically for students on sport-related courses, outlining the core academic competencies needed to succeed at university. The textbook offers tips and techniques for all aspects of higher education, including time management, critical thinking, academic research and writing, e-learning, presentations, group work and exams. The practical processes are supported by sports-related examples, and each chapter ends with useful exercises to test your skills as well as reflect on your prior learning experiences. Designed as either a self-paced text or a companion to an introductory class, Study Skills for Sports Studies demystifies the academic skills needed to succeed and helps you make the most of your time at university.

This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas.New to this Edition:- Features new and updated content on the internet and critical thinking, and analytical skills in relation to developing and following through with a research agenda

The research project is a major component of most higher education sport courses. While undertaking a research project can be an exciting and rewarding experience, it can all too easily lead to stress and disappointment. Mistakes made early in the process - in the design of experiments, for example - can lead to frustration later on. This accessible book guides students through the process, from the initial stages of research (identifying problems and designing questions) right through to the presentation of their findings.

Lab Reports and Projects in Sport and Exercise Science: A guide for students provides a comprehensive overview of what should be contained within each section of a scientific report, and clearly explains how it should be presented. Written in a friendly and engaging style, it guides the reader through abstracts, literature reviews, methodology, reporting discussions and referencing, and contains a wealth of examples and practical advice on how to improve and refine your own writing. From writing a first lab report to preparing a final year dissertation or postgraduate thesis, sports and exercise science students at all levels will find this book a valuable resource in developing both skill and confidence in scientific communication.

The research project or dissertation is a core component of any degree programme in the rapidly developing discipline of sport performance analysis. This highly practical and accessible book provides a complete step-by-step guide to doing a research project. Showcasing the very latest research methods, it covers the whole research process, from identifying a research question and system development to data collection, data analysis and writing up the results. Introducing the fundamentals of project planning and management, this book highlights the importance of research ethics and explains the differences between successful undergraduate and postgraduate projects.