Subject Support Guide For Psychosocial Community Work & Social Work & Youth Work
Welcome to the subject page for Psychosocial Community Work, Social Work and Youth Work. We provide access to thousands of high quality texts and journal for your studies at the University of East London.
This guide includes information on key resources, such as databases, journal titles and links to other resources that maybe relevant to your studies.
Finding Psychosocial Community Work & Social Work & Youth Work
Databases provide an interface that enables you to search thousands of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and more. They will include either the full text of journal articles or the article abstracts.
A complete A-Z list of all databases​ is available on the library website.
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate is one of the main resources for Psychosocial Community Work, Social Work and Youth Work research and should be your first point of call when conducting any literature search in this area.
Why should I use EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate
- Contains peer-reviewed full text journals
- Contains abstracts and indexes
- Content covers a wide variety of subjects and disciplines relevant to Psychosocial Community Work, Social Work and Youth Work
How do I get to EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate?
Click on the following link EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate [opens in a new window]
You may need to sign in first. If so, under 'Find your institution' enter and select 'University of East London' to continue. You then may be asked to enter your UEL email address and password to proceed.
Select 'EBSCOHost Web'
Click on or select 'Academic Search Ultimate' to continue.
Other key databases
Why should I try other databases?
- Journal titles, literature type and full text access may differ
- Subject and content depending on your research area may be stronger in a different database
- Functionality and tools preference
What other databases are available to me?
- EBSCO - link to all the subscribed databases under EBSCO.
- EBSCO APA PsycInfo - for literature relevant to the behavioural sciences and mental health
- EBSCO Education Research Complete - for literature relevant to Education, from early childhood to higher education
- EBSCO British Education Index - for resources relevant to research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Journals are mostly published in the UK.
- Emerald- discover books, journals and case studies covering a range of subjects.
- JSTOR is a multi-subject database and useful for literature relevant to the arts and social sciences.
- Lexis+ UK - Legislation, Law reports and UK newspapers
- PEP - Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing - psychoanalytic literature
- ProQuest Central another big database covering many subjects including Social Sciences. Not only does it contain full text as well as abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed journals but also a large number of newspapers from around the world.
- Research in Practice contains a mix of learning resources, online workshops and news in social care. Does not contain peer-reviewed journals.
- Science Direct contains access to full text as well as abstracts/citations from peer-reviewed journals from different subjects including social science.
- Scopus has lots of functions and very useful for finding latest peer-reviewed research. Links to UEL Library Search to locate full text access where available.
- Westlaw contains case law and legislation
What if I am looking for research in other subjects? For example, health?
The multi-subject databases listed above should locate literature depending on the search terms you use to search with. Also consider checking other subject libguides for specific databases and resources at Subject Guides - Subject Support Guide - LibGuides at University of East London (uel.ac.uk)