LibGuides: Partner Institutions Library Support Guide: Online Resources

What can I access?

This page highlights the key resources which can be used to support your studies and contains instructions on how to access online resources.

The majority of e-resources are available both on and off-campus and can be accessed using your UEL login. In a small number of cases, the resource you are trying to access may require a specific username and password.

How do I access resources?

You will be issued with a username and password by UEL.

Use a separate browser to access your University of East London resources. If you are having difficulties logging in, ensure that you are logged out of your own institution/college account on your chosen browser and then input your University of East London login details to gain access to the relevant resources.

Only the licenced ebook collections and databases listed on this page can be accessed by partner students and staff. The availability of our e-resources to partner institutions is controlled by the agreements that we have with our content providers.

Lots of databases and e-journal have more than one login option.

Look for:

OpenAthens login
Login via your home institution
Shibboleth login - You might also be asked to select your location (regardless of what country you are working in select: UK Access Management Federation or United Kingdom) and your Institution (University of East London).
In the tab: Find your organisation –type University of East London- select University of East London
A box will pop up – select University of East London

The databases we subscribe to give you access to material such as journal articles, conference papers, case studies, company information and e-books free of charge. The information that you will find in these databases has been quality-assured and peer-reviewed. Much of it is available full-text and accessible from home via your University of East London login.

A-Z Databases List

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The Berg Fashion Library is an online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. The resource offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources, including fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.
BFI Screenonline This link opens in a new window
BFI Screenonline is an online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine. Free access to peer-reviewed research articles made immediately and permanently available online.
Brand Republic / Campaign This link opens in a new window
Register for free access
British Library Sounds This link opens in a new window
British Library Sounds lets you listen to a selection of recordings from all over the world. UEL students can listen to all of the recordings on the site. If a recording asks you to confirm your institution to obtain access, click the link and type University of East Log into the search box, then enter your Athens details to gain listen.
Broadcast This link opens in a new window
Register for access to full-text
Collins Online This link opens in a new window
Access to Collins English Dictionary online.
Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
Temporary login details
To access CIS:
1) Click 'create a new account'
2) Follow the onscreen instructions to create a new account with CIS. You must use your UEL email address for this. NB the activation code sent to your email address can take a few minutes to come through.
Once you have created your account you will be able to login with the username and password you created.
Once logged in select 'The Construction Information Service (CIS)' from the main menu.

The Construction Information Service (CIS) is an expert knowledge tool that delivers key technical information critical to all students interested in construction projects.
It contains information from a variety of useful publishers such as BSI, BRE, TRADA and CIRIA.
The CIS provides instant full-text access to current regulations, standards, technical advice and a vast array of related news and briefings. It is fully searchable, intelligently classified and constantly updated.
Directory of Open-Access Journals (DOAJ)
The DOAJ offers links to full text scientific and scholarly open-access journals. The service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are over 2600 journals in the directory and many of the journals are searchable at the article level.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight provides access to a wide range of titles and is especially relevant for anyone looking for business or management information. UEL currently has access to almost 200 Emerald e-journals and over 1000 e-books.
Euromonitor This link opens in a new window
Please note:If you have not used Euromonitor recently you may be asked to re-register your account. The Euromonitor database is an integrated online business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. It offers a range of international market research.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a wealth of IEEE and IET transactions, books, journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
Internet Library of Early Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes & Queries, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.
IRIS Repository This link opens in a new window
IRIS a repository of materials for research into second languages. It holds over 3300 instruments for collecting data, all of which are freely downloadable and adaptable. It provides free access to a wide variety of peer-reviewed research instruments, including interview and observation schedules, questionnaires, language elicitation tasks, and working memory tests.
IZI-database.org -The International Central Institute for Youth and Educational Television (IZI) This link opens in a new window
The International Central Institute for Youth and Educational Television (IZI) provides ready access to international literature to support the use of research and information in this field. This is an easy-to-use, open-access database containing over 22.000 international references and online documents. The IZI is a renowned, non-profit research and documentation centre based in Munich, Germany.
JISC Content This link opens in a new window
Links Students and Academics to JISC Collections and Digital Archives.
LEXIS Library This link opens in a new window
Featuring All England Law Reports, Halsbury's Laws, Family Law Reports, Industrial Relations Law Reports, Personal Injury litigation resources and a number of full-text law journals. Also included, case and legislation search function.

Lexis access for Unicaf students only.

RIBA Online Catalogue This link opens in a new window
The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) online catalogue indexes over 300 architectural journals and is free to use. It is a useful way of finding out what journal articles or book chapters have been written about a building or architect.
VADS This link opens in a new window
VADS is an online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 11 years. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 120,000 freely available images and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning, and research in the UK.
WARC This link opens in a new window
World Advertising Research Center (WARC) provides access to over 13,000 articles and case studies in virtually all areas of advertising, marketing and media activity worldwide.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library is an online, multidisciplinary collection of resources, covering subjects such as Art, Law & Criminology, and Psychology.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank'sofficial open access repositoryfor its research outputs and knowledge products.

You will have access to ebooks covering a range of subject areas via the University of East London Library search.

Click here to access: Library search

Due to licensing restrictions by our content providers there may be some items that cannot be accessed by partner students.

OAPEN Library This link opens in a new window
The OAPEN Library contains freely available academic books, with a particular focus on humanities and social sciences. Subject coverage includes economics, finance, business and management, Law, Sociology and Anthropology.

UC Press E-Books Collection