There are a range of free databases, repositories and websites that exist to find e-books and e-journals that partner students and staff can access without the need to sign in with an institutional log in.
Click on the relevant tab to see the databases, websites and e-book platforms available.
Search engine for finding open access research papers on a variety of subjects.
A search engine for research outputs, including datasets and other unpublished works like working papers deposited on the platform.
Provides a national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions, and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible.
Provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature, indexing over 40 million publications, preprints and other documents.
Enables you to search the contents of repositories for freely available academic research information.
SciELO SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is an open access, web-based library with a publishing model aiming to index, preserve, improve, and give high visibility to a collection of peer reviewed journals published independently by scientific societies.
An open archive of the social sciences and law, providing a platform for academics to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
UEL's own repository, containing research papers and theses from UEL academics.
There are plenty of great websites out there to help support your learning and research. Here is a selection of some of the key ones for your areas of study set out by school.
Click on the tabs to view.
Accountants specialising in medium sized companies. This site contains recent articles on tax-related issues.
Magazine based in the UK dealing with stories in finance, tax, business and technology.
News from the sector and information for members and prospective members.
The BIS is a group of over 60 central banks from around the world. Find access to reports and statistics on monetary, banking and financial matters.
Data gathered from financial institutions from across the UK, with analysis.
News from the sector and information for members and prospective members.
News from the profession plus details of upcoming events and seminars. Also, contains useful information about the professional qualifications.
Trade and investment information for businesses exporting abroad.
Free to use dictionary of financial words and terms.
The role of the council is to issue and set new standards. Includes news, publications, research, summaries of standards.
Includes economic updates and forecasts, budget news & reports.
A not-for-profit organisation which supports research in economics. Has extensive list of publications and working papers to read.
News, research, career information, and articles from within the actuarial profession.
Access to free resources within the site and news on market developments.
Independent analysis of the UK's public finances.
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics.
Owned by Bloomberg, this online magazine is in the same vein as The Economist, with articles on business, politics, culture and economics.
Site contains some useful resources to female entrepreneurship and women in business.
Find information on geography, economics, politics, military and communications for more than 200 nations worldwide.
Official government site for UK companies. Contains information and advice as well as a link to the Companies Act 2006.
News, business links, the confederation's own journal, and information on current business issues.
Information on its activities and resources; exports and investment; business support; regulatory guidance; science and industry; and economic competition
UK Trade and Investments for information on UK businesses exporting abroad.
Large amount of published information available on a range of business-related issues. Contains links to its research centre.
Useful site map and links to other associated organisations.
Government advice website on starting your own business. Information includes advice on hiring employees, licences, insurance and registering your business.
Apply for a government-backed loan for starting your business, plus other useful advice for entrepreneurs.
Find inspiration and new ideas from a range of people speaking at TED talks on topics of business and leadership.
This site can help you find corruption figures for nearly every country in the world. This is particularly useful if you are studying corporate responsibility and governance.
Official website of the advice and conciliation service with links to information on disputes, contracts, equality and redundancy, amongst many others.
Professional body for managers and staff development officers. Information on membership, events and profession-related subjects such as employment law.
Information and advice on employment law, including the Equality Act 2010.
Global magazine resource in coverage. HR articles from around the world, trends, analysis and the latest news.
Lists programmes and activities, International Labour Standards, and related news.
Search the for government legislation, e.g. Employment Rights Act 1996.
The online magazine for CIPD. News, opinions and comment from the HR sector.
News articles and comment on a variety of HR related topics. Sign up to the RSS feeds for the latest news to your desktop.
Go to the Publications tab for the latest reports.
Emphasis on enhancing research quality in marketing, with news, events and publications.
Access to articles and publications on all areas of marketing.
Advertising journal, some free content available, especially news articles.
Information on training and qualifications as well as news and events.
Site contains news, how-to guides, podcast and magazine on content marketing.
Blog and podcast on the subject of online marketing.
News and events from the professional society for those interested in marketing theory and research.
Site dedicated to the preservation of advertising heritage, and celebrating achievements and innovation.
Blogs, videos, news, events and training courses.
News, events and webinars on a variety of marketing research topics.
Contains information, news, articles, videos and a blog on all aspects of marketing.
Official body representing researchers in the field in the UK.
Independent charity which advances public knowledge of crime, criminal justice and social harm.
Independent charity taking taking anonymous information about crimes in communities across the UK.
Campaign group for prison and penal reform.
Charity dedicated to helping people to navigate life after the criminal justice system.
Official government body dealing with organised crime.
Up-to-date crime statistics for the UK.
Campaign group for reforming prisons and prisoner welfare.
Information on national policing issues and legislation
News, reports and guidance from the government department for policing.
Official website of the Met, London's police force.
Access to the Library resources is free to all serving police officers, including apprentices. Click on the registration form to set up your access
Staff association of the police force, representing more than 120,000 serving officers.
List and links to websites of all police forces in the UK.
Government website containing information about police matters including bills, policy and finance.
Official body that prosecutes criminal cases in the UK.
Find all UK legislation (including Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland).
Government website for the department that deals with crime and policing in the UK.
Proceedings of the Old Bailey (London's Central Criminal Court) from 1674-1913.
Body set up to promote greater consistency in the sentencing of crimes.
One of the world's leading economic think tanks. Advocates the case for free markets and a free society in the UK. Find research, videos and a section devoted to economics students.
The BIS is a group of over 60 central banks from around the world. Find access to reports and statistics on monetary, banking and financial matters.
Includes useful press releases and statistical information.
As a result of the 1998 Competition Act the Competition and Markets Authority replaced the Monopolies & Mergers Commission. Also access to the European Commission site on Competition.
Information on its activities and resources; exports and investment; business support; regulatory guidance; science and industry; and economic competition.
UK Trade and Investments for information on UK businesses exporting abroad.
Search news, budgets, initiatives and guidance, etc.
A not-for-profit organisation which supports research in economics. Has an extensive list of publications and working papers.
Large amount of published information available on a range of economics-related issues including econometrics, consumption, the labour market, etc.. Contains links to its research centre.
The IEA was the first free-market think tank to be established in the UK. Find research, blog and a resources section for economics students, including info about internships.
The International Monetary Fund e-library is freely accessible to anyone and contains links to reports on global economic topics.
Access to free resources within the site and news on market developments.
Comprehensive listing of UN, national, and other statistical agencies available through the web.
The WEF publishes reports in its efforts to work with business, politicians and academics to examine global issues.
Bills currently passing through Parliament.
Direct link to Parliament's information page for the EU referendum and its consequences, contains research and analysis.
Direct link to Hansard, the official reports from all parliamentary debates.
Direct link to the House of Commons page on the Parliament website.
Direct link to the House of Lords page on the Parliament website.
The official publisher of The Law Reports for the Superior Appellate Courts of England and Wales.
Links to information about law reform, consultations and publications.
Find links to all UK legislation (including Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland).
Proceedings of the Old Bailey (London's Central Criminal Court) from 1674-1913.
Links to all government departments and publications, including command papers and selected white and green papers.
Information about the UK Parliament, including links to the Commons, Lords, Bills, Committees, Brexit and Hansards.
Information on rights in the workplace, dispute resolution and good practices.
The specialist bar association for barristers advising the international business community.
Competition and consumer law, regulations, mergers and news.
Latest news and policies concerning business and employment in the UK.
Information about all UK unions, news on current topics, campaigns and research/analysis in employment.
Portal for searching authoritative sources of international law.
Links to international, comparative and foreign law resources from around the world.
Search for cases, decisions and documents related to the ICJ of the United Nations.
The UN published International Law Handbook from 2017, containing instruments and procedures on a variety of international law topics.
Legal information and guides on a variety of themes for individual nations.
An intergovernmental organisation providing international arbitration and dispute resolution. Search for cases and related documents.
Reports of cases which do not reach the International Court of Justice, contains searchable database.
Explore and search documents, speeches, votes and publications from the United Nations General Assembly and various Councils.
Search by list of treaties or title for all multi-lateral treaties deposited with the UN Secretary General.
Searchable database of international law.
Organisation dedicated to assisting marginalised individuals and prompting awareness of rights in European law.
Information about campaigns and news on current issues.
Advice and guidance on equality and human rights in the UK context.
Judgements, decisions and case law from the Court.
Campaign group for justice in immigration and asylum law in the UK.
Campaign group for civil liberties and human rights in the UK.
Its free and provides case commentary and analysis written by lawyers and academics, as well as links to judgments.
International organisation made up of 193 countries. Access to organisational structure, missions, agencies and human rights information.
Link to the Court of Justice website with case-finder search function.
EU database containing information about legal matters across the European Union.
Search for case law, legislation and treaties.
Register with the website to get full text access to open access articles only.
Free database allowing searches for cases, legislation and gazettes.
Informative blog on all aspects of African law.
Informative blog on all aspects of Asian law.
Large bibliographic collection of Asian law materials, including book chapters and journal articles.
Free database allowing searches for journal articles, court decisions and constitutions.
Free database allowing searches of 60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions.
Free legal collections of US federal and state law resources as well as Supreme Court decisions.
Free access to search through federal and state cases and codes.
To view the US Constitution, expand the 'Front Matter' option, expand the 'Organic Laws' section and the Constitution is the 4th option down.
Offers free access to US federal government publications from all 3 branches.
The Library of Congress collection of links to different State resources and information pages.
Government dept responsible for tourism.
Community hub for businesses involved in tourism in Europe. Site includes links to research and events.
Official EU site concerned with tourism, contains information on events, news and public consultations.
Information and newsletters from the Councils as well as PDF links to their publications.
Information on events and training & development within the industry.
News, events and research on tourism.
Website for UNESCO World Heritage providing information on the protection of sites of cultural and historical importance around the world.
Corporate version of the Visit Britain sites, with links to global and UK tourism statistics as well as the quarterly Tourism Trends newsletter.
Part of the United Nations, this website contains news and features related to issues in world tourism.
Links to reports and research.
News, articles, events and webinars from the hospitality industry.
Site devoted to news, interviews and events within the hospitality industry, including sections on Hotels, Restaurants and Pubs & Bars.
Links to publications and research in hospitality.
News and articles from across the globe.
The professional body for all those who work within the hospitality industry.
Formerly known as the British Hospitality Association, the site has reports on various aspects of the industry including food management and the impact of the industry on the UK economy as a whole.
A key magazine for the events industry, published 10 times a year. Free to read but you must register as a subscriber.
A monthly magazine for the event management professional. Includes news, articles and case studies. Free to read but you must register first.
US published magazine covering hospitality, event and meeting management plus incentives.
Sport Business is a professional global intelligence service, providing news, analysis and data.
To login, please use the username: resources@uel.ac.uk and the password: Library2018
UK Sport is the government agency responsible for investment in Olympic and Paralympic sport in the UK.
Informative website about careers in sport business.
Leading provider of sports industry news through articles, interviews and podcasts.
Sport Industry contains content and events within the UK sports sector as well as development and networking opportunities.
CIMSPA is the professional body for the UK's sport and physical activity sector.
Official body which invests in and promotes sport and physical activity in England.
Advocacy branch of the U.N. for using sport to assist in the global recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.
Our lives, our cultures, are composed of many overlapping stories. Novelist Chimamanda Adichie tells the story of how she found her authentic cultural voice -- and warns that if we hear only a single story about another person or country, we risk a critical misunderstanding.
The largest professional association of psychologists worldwide. Its website features a large quantity of high quality, freely available information on all aspects of psychology.
The UK’s largest independent organisation to specialise in working psychologically, informed by an understanding of intersectionality, with people who identify as Black, African, South Asian and Caribbean.
The BiPP Network prioritises and advances the representation of Black and Minority Ethnic backgrounds within psychiatry and psychology. The website includes a blog with contributions from members of the community.
The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy is the professional association for members of the counselling professions in the UK.
The representative body for psychologists and psychology in the UK . Information includes training for psychologists, ethics and professional conduct regulations and BPS student membership details.
Browseable collection of psychology links.
PCSR is a not-for-profit organisation that commits to locating counselling and psychotherapy in its social, political, ecological, and economic context.
Features critiques of recent research papers in the field of psychology.
Designed specifically for psychology undergraduates.
Educational Psychology Research and Practice is an open access periodical published twice a year by the School of Psychology, University of East London. It offers a forum for informed debate and discussion of Educational Psychology research and training as well as a wider focus on issues of social justice and civic engagement in applied psychological practice. EPRaP is open to publishing research findings, literature reviews, commentaries, methodology papers, reflection on practice and book/resource reviews. It is part of a research and learning culture that recognises the importance of knowledge exchange and impact for partners in the community.
Frontiers in Psychology is an Open Access journal, publishing peer-reviewed research across the psychological sciences, from clinical research to cognitive science, from perception to consciousness, from imaging studies to human factors, and from animal cognition to social psychology.
BMC Psychology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers manuscripts on all aspects of psychology, human behavior and the mind, including developmental, clinical, cognitive, experimental, health and social psychology, as well as personality and individual differences.
A count of all people and households in the UK, this survey is taken every 10 years.
Research and statistics from the Government.
Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) are the designated data body for England.
Thousands of statistics relating to London
Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) are the designated data body for England.
Official Labour market statistics
Global education information from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD).
Early years childcare, school and college education, and higher education and adult learning, including qualifications, personnel, and safety and well-being.
Official statistics on education and children from the Department for Education.
Information and publications from the Office for National Statistics up until January 2016.
A searchable full-text daily health news service from the BBC, also providing medical notes on specific conditions and links to related Internet sites.
Provides the latest on the Department's work, as well as health and social care guidance, publications and policy.
A Geneva based non-profit based organisation promoting the development of shared health information for the international community
The King's Fund is an independent charitable foundation working for better health, especially in London. The Fund carry out research, policy analysis and development activities.
A service to help you make choices about your health. Includes finding and using NHS services
Provides national guidance on promoting good health and preventing and treating ill health.
Independent health platform, it is a trusted source of information for both patients and health professionals across the globe.
The official public health portal of the European Union. With access to over 40,000 links to trustworthy sources, the portal aims to provide information on 47 health topics.
Provides the latest on the Department's work, as well as health and social care guidance, publications and policy.
A searchable full-text daily health news service from the BBC, also providing medical notes on specific conditions and links to related Internet sites.
A Geneva based non-profit based organisation promoting the development of shared health information for the international community.
The King's Fund is an independent charitable foundation working for better health, especially in London. The Fund carry out research, policy analysis and development activities.
A service to help you make choices about your health. Includes finding and using NHS services.
NHS England leads the National Health Service in England. They set the priorities and direction of the NHS and encourage and inform the national debate to improve health and care.
Provides national guidance on promoting good health and preventing and treating ill health
Evidence search provides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
Independent health platform, is a trusted source of information for both patients and health professionals across the globe.
PHE is an executive agency of the Department of Health. Their mission is 'to protect and improve the nation's health and wellbeing, and reduce health inequalities'.
Representing nurses and nursing, promoting excellence in practice, shaping health policies.
Evidence based healthcare.
Department of Health website with an A/Z search facility of health and allied information.
Online medical reference tool for physical medicine and rehabilitation.
Access to over 400 free full text medical books.
Physiotherapy evidence database developed to give physiotherapists and others rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy.
Evidence based healthcare.
Department of Health website with an A/Z search facility of health and allied information.
Access to over 400 free full text medical books.
Useful links to other key sites.
Human Kinetics site for all aspects of physical activity.
Official website for the Olympic movement.
Inspiring an active nation through great coaching
