Teacher Training

This practical guide presents 50 ways in which students can revitalise their approach to studying and boost their grades.

This practical book will inspire and encourage students to shape new habits and make stress-management a natural part of their everyday routine.

This hands-on book introduces students to the demands of university study in a clear and accessible way and helps them to understand what is expected of them.

Be Well, Learn Well begins by considering the impact of factors such as diet, exercise, hydration, sleep and sunlight on learning, before examining how 'deep' learning can improve wellbeing.

Communication Skills for your Education Degree will help you to: improve your oral and written communication skills in a range of academic and educational settings improve your public speaking, including academic presentations improve your practical writing and speaking skills

What is PGCE at M-Level and what can you expect from the course? How can it help you to develop as a professional? Masters-level study is an increasingly prevalent component of PGCE courses and this new edition of the student guide offers a clear and concise overview of M-level aspects in teacher education.

Packed with study tips, activities, templates and quotes from students, this is your essential guide to university, showing you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Effectively work with others in groups, seminars and workshops Write assignments and pass exams with flying colours Build your CV and plan your next steps after graduation. New to this edition is content on how to thrive at university, learn and research digitally, and how to develop your employability skills.

Many universities around the world are seeing how they can use theories of positive psychology to help students cope well with the ever-increasing stresses of modern-day life and university. This practical, hands-on book will help you understand, experience and put into practice skills and strategies to improve and sustain your wellbeing so that you can thrive throughout your time at university.

The NQT book is written by experienced teachers and teacher training experts--sources you can trust to provide pragmatic and evidence-based support.

Preparing for Higher Education Study aims to support students starting out in higher education. It focuses on the key skills required to make the step up from school or college to university education.The conventional student of the 20th century is no longer the norm in many sectors. People now enter higher education via diverse routes.They might for example be experienced individuals holding down responsible jobs who want to build their expertise and enhance their career prospects, but who have been out of formal education for several years, or they might be people with the ability but not the standard pre-requisites for a degree course.This book will give new students the boost they need to make the step up into higher education.

This innovative book provides clear and straight-forward strategies which help students to understand the conventions of academic assignments and what lecturers expect from their work.

This illustrated pocket book offers advice, practical tips, and useful exercises for students who want to safely navigate the unique pressures and pleasures that life at university brings.

Full of practical advice and visual examples, this compact book provides learners with the tools and knowledge to work with their dyslexia. The book's accessible layout and engaging style supports students with dyslexia and enables them to take control of their studies and learn in ways that are most effective for them. It covers all the core study skills, including reading, writing and revision, and includes guidance on how to manage time effectively. This is an ideal resource for students of all levels who want advice on how to manage their dyslexia in a positive way. New to this Edition: - Includes more coverage on the latest assistive technology (including apps) which is available to students - Contains more material on how to manage other SpLDs, including dyspraxia

This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed.This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.New to this Edition:- Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments- New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays- More emphasis on reflective learning

New to university and not sure what you should be doing, or when? This book shows you how to make university work for you. Taking into account academic, personal, and practical experiences, it helps you make the most of all the opportunities your course has to offer.

The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises.

You can take control of your well-being and mental health. Student life can be overwhelming, with so many issues to deal with including living away from home, workload, deadlines and exams, family pressures and challenging relationships. It is not surprising that you might struggle to cope sometimes. But there are simple and effective ways that you can take ownership of your mental health, meaning you stay stress free, enjoy your university experience and achieve academic success. This book guides you through your student journey from preparing to go to college or university, managing the academic pressures, finding a job, and everything in-between.

The Essential Guides for Early Career Teachers provide accessible, carefully researched, quick-reads for early career teachers, covering the key topics they will encounter during their training year and first two years of teaching.

This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review.

This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation.

Whether looking for guidance on the whole process, needing help with conducting a literature review or interpreting your quantitative and qualitative data, this accessible and empowering guide will take you through the dissertation process and provide all the information you need to make the most of your research project.

Grappling with grammar? Worrying about referencing? This handy guide is packed with practical advice on how to search for reading materials, structure your academic writing, think critically, reference appropriately, and use language effectively. "Top Tips" throughout the book help eradicate all the common mistakes that bring your marks down.

A practical guide for students undertaking their dissertation, Writing Successful Undergraduate Dissertations in Social Sciences.

This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas.New to this Edition:- Features new and updated content on the internet and critical thinking, and analytical skills in relation to developing and following through with a research agenda

This concise and practical text will equip students with the effective reading strategies they need when preparing for their university assessments. It dispels assumptions often made about the nature of reading at university, and provides an overview of the culture of academic reading, note-making, and what markers expect.

This engaging text shows students what markers look for in their work and helps them to develop the skills they need to produce a first-class essay. It focuses on all the core elements of effective essay writing, including devising a question, critical thinking, engaging with the literature and structuring an essay.

Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging.

The second edition of this concise phrase book is an essential tool for all students who want to communicate their ideas, arguments and evaluations clearly and precisely.

Fully revised for the third edition, this popular text provides an advanced yet accessible introduction to the tools, terminology and research perspectives that students need to know in order to engage in academic debate and successfully complete research-based assignments.

This easy-to-use guide identifies and addresses the key areas where most students need help in developing and enhancing the critical thinking and writing skills that are crucial to successful academic study, and provides practical tips and solutions.

With a focus on developing an effective writing style and argument, this book shows you, step-by-step, how to plan and deliver a perfect piece of writing to gain top marks.  Open up to find advice on: What makes dissertations and reports distinctive Organising your time and materials Finding the right planning method for you How to structure your writing successfully Writing good sentences, paragraphs, sections and chapters. Read this book and you're on your way to writing a great report or dissertation! The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!

Writing good essays is one of the most challenging aspects of studying in the social sciences. This simple guide provides you with proven approaches and techniques to help turn you into a well-oiled, essay writing machine.

;Your Dissertation in Education  is a straight-forward, plain English guide to doing and writing your project. It will take you from start to finish, with practical and friendly advice on every page.

This book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing.

The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides direction for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.

This concise and practical guide takes students step-by-step through the writing process, and covers core aspects of academic writing, from understanding the task and researching the topic through to composing a draft, editing copy and responding to feedback.

Ursula Hackett's tried-and-tested approach for essay success helps students to create brilliant, original, high-scoring essays that are enjoyable to write - and read.

Achieve all your goals for university - whatever they are! How to Succeed at University provides straightforward, practical advice for anyone experiencing university life.

Packed with top tips and helpful examples, this concise book takes students through the process of preparing and making successful applications for work placements, internships and graduate jobs. It encourages students to think about what they want from their career and to identify roles which match with their personality, strengths and experiences.

This book takes a hands-on approach to skills development and will help your students to stand out from the crowd, both during their studies and when applying for jobs. It supports students in the development of key organisational and interpersonal skills, including time management, teamwork and leadership, through activities and reflective tasks.

7 Skills for the Future sets the scene for seven new soft skills that will propel you forward. Through a combination of scientific research, no-nonsense advice, practical exercises and case studies, this book shows you how to understand, develop and use the 7 skills mentioned.

What makes you stand out in the market for that great graduate job? In the competitive market for graduate jobs, securing a good degree no longer sets you apart from other candidates - this book will provide you with the tools and techniques to allow you to gain and communicate the range of employability skills and behaviours that will make you stand out from the crowd and get the job that you want.

Comprehensive guide to career planning and job hunting for students and graduates, organised in simple chapters to help readers address the various issues they experience as they move through uni and into work.

Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job.

This is an ideal resource for students of all levels looking for techniques and tips to help them improve their career prospects.

This guide will help readers to develop the skills they need to land their dream job. It breaks the career planning process down into manageable steps, from researching roles and gaining work experience to crafting a stand-out CV and impressing at interview. It also includes practical guidance on networking, entrepreneurship and responding to job offers.