LibGuides: Business: Websites and Statistics

Websites and Statistics

Here is a small selection of useful websites.

Bloomberg Business Week Magazine
Owned by Bloomberg, this online magazine is in the same vein as The Economist, with articles on business, politics, culture and economics.
The Cherie Blair Foundation
Site contains some useful resources to female entrepreneurship and women in business.
Companies House
Official government site for UK companies. Contains information and advice as well as a link to the Companies Act 2006.
CBI - Confederation of British Industry
News, business links, the confederation's own journal, and information on current business issues.
Department for Business & Trade
Information on its activities and resources; exports and investment; business support; regulatory guidance; science and industry; and economic competition
Institute for Fiscal Studies
Large amount of published information available on a range of business-related issues. Contains links to its research centre.
Setting up a Business
Government advice website on starting your own business. Information includes advice on hiring employees, licences, insurance and registering your business.
Start Up Loans for Business
Apply for a government-backed loan for starting your business, plus other useful advice for entrepreneurs.
TED Talks in Business
Find inspiration and new ideas from a range of people speaking at TED talks on topics of business and leadership.
Transparency International
This site can help you find corruption figures for nearly every country in the world. This is particularly useful if you are studying corporate responsibility and governance.

ACAS - Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service
Official website of the advice and conciliation service with links to information on disputes, contracts, equality and redundancy, amongst many others.
CIPD - Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development
Professional body for managers and staff development officers. Information on membership, events and profession-related subjects such as employment law.
Equality and Human Rights Commission
Information and advice on employment law, including the Equality Act 2010.
Human Resources Online
Global magazine resource in coverage. HR articles from around the world, trends, analysis and the latest news.
ILO - International Labour Organization
Lists programmes and activities, International Labour Standards, and related news.
Legislation UK
Search the for government legislation, e.g. Employment Rights Act 1996.
People Management
The online magazine for CIPD. News, opinions and comment from the HR sector.
Personnel Today
News articles and comment on a variety of HR related topics. Sign up to the RSS feeds for the latest news to your desktop.
Work Foundation
Go to the Publications tab for the latest reports.

Academy of Marketing
Emphasis on enhancing research quality in marketing, with news, events and publications.
AMA - American Marketing Association
Access to articles and publications on all areas of marketing.
Campaign
Advertising journal, some free content available, especially news articles.
CIM - Chartered Institute of Marketing
Information on training and qualifications as well as news and events.
Content Marketing Institute
Site contains news, how-to guides, podcast and magazine on content marketing.
Copy Blogger
Blog and podcast on the subject of online marketing.
EMAC - European Marketing Academy
News and events from the professional society for those interested in marketing theory and research.
HAT - History of Advertising Trust
Site dedicated to the preservation of advertising heritage, and celebrating achievements and innovation.
IDM - Institute of Data and Marketing
Blogs, videos, news, events and training courses.
MSI - Marketing Science Institute
News, events and webinars on a variety of marketing research topics.
Marketing Sherpa
Contains information, news, articles, videos and a blog on all aspects of marketing.

Bank for International Settlements
The BIS is a group of over 60 central banks from around the world. Find access to reports and statistics on monetary, banking and financial matters.
Bloomberg
Markets, stocks and futures data, plus financial news.
CIA World Factbook
Find information on geography, economics, politics, military and communications for more than 200 nations worldwide.
Data.gov.uk
Search for stats from many topics in the UK.
Eurostat
Statistics and data on Europe.
Forecast for UK Economy
UK government site with forecast datasets for the last 12 years.
Google Dataset Search
Find datasets on a variety of subjects.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Access to economic statistics, research reports and country data.
London Stock Exchange
Access to free resources within the site and the latest news on market developments.
NOMIS
UK labour market and census stats and reports.
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-Operation
Organisation for Economic Co-operation website with data and reports from around the world.
Office for Budgetary Responsibility
Public body, funded by H.M.Treasury, that provides independent economic forecasts and analysis of public finances.
Office for National Statistics
UK national statistics updated regularly. Covers production, distribution, consumption and trade.
Trading Economics
Market, stocks and currency data.
UN Comtrade Database
Free access to global trade data.
World Bank Open Data
Global development statistics and reports.