Whilst we have many specialist subject databases for your research needs, there are some that will be useful for all topics.
-
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.
-
EBSCOEBSCO gives access to a number of bibliographic and full-text databases across all subjects.
-
ProQuest CentralProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
-
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)The DOAJ offers links to full text scientific and scholarly open-access journals. The service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are over 2600 journals in the directory and many of the journals are searchable at the article level.
-
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)Search engine for open access academic resources, includes journal articles, conference papers, theses and research papers.
-
UK Data ServiceThe UK Data Service is a resource archiving and disseminating large-scale government, qualitative and other social science datasets via the UK Data Archive for secondary data analysis.
The Scholarly Communications team based in Library, Archives, and Learning Services provide advisory and technical services to support staff and students with research and how their findings are disseminated and archived.
Open Access - Staff can advise on uploading to the institutional repository and making your research available to a wide audience.
Research Data Management - The Research Data Management Service provides advice and guidance to help PGRs and Staff manage their research data, including review of Data Management Plans and depositing their data in the repository.
The subject librarians are able to do a Teams 1-2-1 with you if you would like to discuss how you can best utilise the UEL resources for your own research project.
To book an online meeting, please email the relevant subject librarian.
The Inter Library Loans (ILLs) service means that you always have a chance of getting a book or journal article that UEL does not have within our subscriptions. As both an academic staff member and as a researcher you will need access to a wide variety of resources, some of which may fall outside of our collection, but ILL requests are unlimited for our staff.
You will need a valid staff library account before making a request.
More information on how to make a request can be found here on our website.
Staff members at UEL are eligible for Band A membership of the Sconul Access scheme.
This means that you can visit other university libraries in the UK, that participate in the Sconul Access scheme, and use their printed resources for your research. Wi-Fi is available through Edu-Roam.
To apply for Sconul Access, click here for their website and the application form.
UEL Library staff will assess your application and let you know if it has been successful. To qualify for Sconul Access, you must have a UEL library account clear of fines and blocks.
More information about the scheme can be found on our website.