Midwifery

The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully updated and revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on areas such as nutrition, medical research, lymphology, and critical care nursing. Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,400 clear and concise entries on the theory and practice of nursing, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, statistics, and pharmacology.

What does that term mean? How is it even pronounced? Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 8th Edition. This comprehensive, portable dictionary offers a unique, strong focus on nursing and health science terminology. Featuring over 56,600 authoritative definitions of diseases, procedures, equipment, drugs, and more, it ensures you have the most reliable health science information right at your fingertips. Word roots and pronunciations help you learn and correctly use medical terminology, and alphabetized screened thumb tabs make finding definitions quick and easy.

This book is an essential course companion for nursing and midwifery students at degree and diploma level, as well as those returning to study. It covers key skills and knowledge needed, such as: Study strategies Reflective practice Critical thinking Evidence-based research Exam techniques Literature searching How to succeed in assessments Lively and accessible, the book includes bullet points and exercises that will enhance reader efficiency in learning. The book also has an accompanying website, www.openup.co.uk/nursingsuccess, that is written specifically for this market, and includes tips on: Writing CVs and covering letters Finding a good job Interview skills Continuing professional development (CPD) for nurses and midwives Career progression Study Skills for Nursing and Midwifery Students has been carefully structured to be used throughout a nursing career: It is key reading for new students in midwifery and all fields of nursing, as well as qualified staff who aim to enhance their professional development.

Nursing and midwifery students are required to communicate in writing in a variety of forms, for a variety of potential audiences including their colleagues, allied health professionals, administrators and, most importantly, their patients and the public.Dena Bain Taylor is an experienced teacher of writing and critical skills across the range of allied health professions, and understands the types of writing nursing and midwifery students do and the writing issues they face. Her accessible, straightforward book - tailored specifically to the content and conventions of nursing and midwifery curricula - teaches students to write persuasively and correctly, both to support them in their courses and to prepare them for their professional careers. The book:Offers practical strategies for using language to achieve clear, persuasive writingProvides clear explanations of underlying principlesContains samples of good and improvable writing, leading the student step-by-step through the whole writing processFocuses on the genres and styles of writing that nursing and midwifery students are typically asked forWith regular summaries, learning aids, checklists and a glossary of key terms, nursing and midwifery students at all levels will find this book easy to follow and handy to refer to for help with the writing they need to do throughout their course.

Combining a theoretical approach with practical activities, this book is invaluable for nursing and midwifery students and will help them to master the basics of writing at university. It equips students with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism.

If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life

How do I start my literature review? What sources can I go to for information? How do I analyse the work of others? This clear, practical book guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process, giving them the skills and knowledge they need for success. The chapters address: - Different types of literature reviews - Critically analysing material - Presenting the final piece of work - Best practice in referencing and plagiarism - Systematic approaches to literature reviews A wide range of examples from books, journals and other sources are included to demonstrate the process in action. Each chapter also includes activities and checklists to help readers develop their own work. It will be an essential guide for all nursing and all allied healthcare students, as well as professionals working in practice.

Developing persuasive, clear, authoritative writing for academic and professional work can be a real challenge for many. This book guides the reader through the writing process for a dissertation, thesis or essay. Practical strategies and tips for each stage of the process are offered throughout, from critical reading through to preparing the final piece of work for submission. The author pays particular attention to an understanding of the English language, and how it is be best used in academic work. Key features of the book are:          Real examples from postgraduate work which show the strengths and weaknesses of different approaches          Glossaries of terms          Case studies of published research which demonstrate good practice in writing          Checklists of tasks to complete whilst working on a writing project It will be essential reading for all those writing dissertations, essays and theses at post-registration and postgraduate level in health and nursing.

This is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature
review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is vital reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study that involves doing a literature review.