Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives first page

Welcome to this introductory guide to the Refugee Archives located within the Library, Archives and Learning Service at the University of East London.  The UEL Archives are based in the ground floor of the Docklands Campus Archive and are accessible to everyone.  The Archive is run by a dedicated full-time archivist and is accessible by either dropping in during scheduled opening times or by making an appointment with the Archivist.  The Archive reading room can also be used as a quiet study space for students as well.

Details of the launch event were documented in the Guardian newspaper with their article, UEL unveils refugee archive, published on Tuesday 23 May, 2003.

The Refugee Archive

Gujarati Yatra Archive

These stories also reveal the art, language, literature, food and religion of the Gujarati people and how these were preserved and adapted in different cultures. The history of the Gujarati Yatra is intertwined with, and helps us understand, changes in politics, trade, business, education and migration from the period before British rule in India to the present day. 

An online exhibition is also available at: www.gujaratiyatra.com/

sample event test

UEL OLIVE Course for Refugees

The aim of this project will be to support the OLIVE Initiative to start a refugee access to HE Programme within UEL.

The aim of this project first and foremost will be to create an online Research Hub in London for refugees and migrants. This will act as an online hub for refugees and asylum seekers living in the UK and provide peer reviewed, current and relevant materials for refugees and asylum seekers who wish to seek higher education opportunities within the UK.

VOKIM: Voices of Kosovo in Manchester Archive 

Article   : UEL unveils refugee archive,

published  : On Tuesday 23 May 2003. 

Available  : In the Refugee Council Archive reading room at QU9.2 COO.

Refugee Mental Health and Wellbeing Portal

UEL Refugee Mental Health Portal: www.uel.ac.uk/schools/psychology/research/refugee-mental-health-and-wellbeing-portal 

Follow us on Twitter: @BuildingUel  

Follow us on Facebook:  UEL Building Bridges with refugees and asylum seekers #UELEngage 


Welcome to the UEL Libguides. Here you will find information on how to access and use our archival resources at UEL for learning, teaching, and research!


.

bgcolor