Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Arts

Welcome to the Visual Arts Guide. This guide highlights the key resources which can be used to support your research in these areas.

Databases

Journals

 

Journal articles are an excellent source of information, particularly if your subject is quite specific or current (e.g. a recent exhibition or contemporary artist).

The Library subscribes to a number of  journals in print and electronic format, which you can find with our Library Search. Older issues of print journals are held on the second floor of the library, arranged in alphabetical order by journal title. On the first floor within the Artists Collection you can find the latest issues of Visual Arts journals

Below is table of the key journals to which we provide recent access to. Please note though, we have many more journals available via our databases as well as the below. I.e. if you search in the databases you will find content from many more publications. Also note that print and online access does not always cover all years. Finally, also note that many of these journals have free content on their websites.

Journal Format
AFTERALL JOURNAL OF ART, CONTEXT AND ENQUIRY Print only
ANOTHER MAGAZINE Print only
APERTURE Print only
ART HISTORY Online (online is print layout)
ARTFORUM INTERNATIONAL Print and online (online is not print layout)
ART MONTHLY Online (online is print layout)
BLUE NOTEBOOK Print only
BRITISH JOURNAL OF PHOTOGRAPHY Print and online (online is print layout)
CREATIVE REVIEW Print only
DAZED Print only
ELEPHANT MAGAZINE Print only
EYE MAGAZINE INTERNATIONAL REVIEW OF GRAPHIC DESIGN Print only
FLASH ART INTERNATIONAL Print only
FRIEZE Print only
HOTSHOE INTERNATIONAL Print only
INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ART AND DESIGN EDUCATION Print and online (online is print layout)
JOURNAL OF AESTHETICS AND ART CRITICISM Print and online (online is print layout)
JOURNAL OF DESIGN HISTORY Print only
JOURNAL OF VISUAL CULTURE Print and online (online is print layout)
OXFORD ART JOURNAL Print only
PRINT QUARTERLY Print only
PRINTMAKING TODAY Print only
PUBLIC ART REVIEW Print only
RA MAGAZINE Print only
VAROOM Print only
VIEWPOINT DESIGN Print only
WOMANS ART JOURNAL Print only
RAW VISION  Print only

Searching for journal articles

You can use library search  to see whether we have access to a particular journal. If you have a topic interest in mind we recommend searching within our databases to search across many journals at the same time. Although we have a variety of potentially useful databases, we especially recommend the Art, Design and Architecture Collection database, which indexes a number of journals in the area of Visual Art.


 

The following websites can be good sources for content engaged with contemporary art (as well as  the websites of the journals listed above): ArtReview, The Brooklyn Rail, Cura, e-flux, MousseSpike Art Magazine, Tate Etc.

The following websites can be good sources of documentation of contemporary art exhibtions: Art Viewer, Contemporary Art Daily

Axis Web features profiles of professional artists and curators, interviews, discussions, art news, debates and showcases the artists to watch.

Books and ebooks

If you type your key word(s) into the Library Search, you will be able to find books and ebooks that match your search term(s). By looking at the shelf marks you can identify the section of books that generally covers that area. However, this is just a general guide. Books could be at many different shelf marks so it is always advisable to use the library search to find items. On the 1st floor, next to the library enquiry desk, you can find the Artists Section. The books are arranged alphabetically by the artist's surname.

Browsing for books and journals