Biosciences

Worried about your maternal effect or biological clock? Need to know a rhizoid from a rhizome? Think you're going to fail your zoology or botany exam? The Penguin Dictionary of Biology is your saviour, defining some 6000 terms relating to this rich, complex and constantly expanding subject - from amino acids, bacteria and the cell cycle to X-ray diffraction, Y chromosome and zygotes. Long established as the definitive single-volume source, this dictionary has sold over 200,000 copies and is extensively updated for its eleventh edition.

This dictionary defines various terms typically used in pharmaceutical medicine. A new, 4th edition includes adaptations of the text to the steadily increasing regulatory requirements, particularly in the area of genetics/gene therapy, product quality (e.g., protection against falsified medicines) and of product safety (pharmacovigilance). Further evolving areas that are covered by the 4th edition are typical "grey zones" (health effects often borderline to medicinal products) such as cosmetics and dietary supplements where misleading information is prohibited on one hand but where any health claims need formal authorisation on the other. These but also other areas are reviewed and presented in an updated and - if justified - in an enlarged form.

This revised edition provides a survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology in the form of a dictionary. It contains short but informative entries arranged under more than 17,000 headwords. It is intended as a handy reference of first resource for those seeking information outside their immediate knowledge area or for those who need to refresh their memory of fundamental knowledge. This revised edition has been fully up-dated in order to include the new information that has been discovered since the original edition was published in 1997.

This new edition of the Dictionary addresses the needs of students, educators, and clinical geneticists for an authoritative and up-to-date reference work that not only defines the latest terms, but in most cases, also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information.

Dive into the most common statistical tests and software packages used for scientific data analysis and interpretation  In Essential Statistics For Bioscientists, experienced university and bioscientist Dr Mohammed Meah delivers  easy access to statistical analysis and data presentation. It is a great resource for students in the field of life and health sciences to conceptualize, analyze, and present data. This book uses three popular and commonly used statistics softwares--Microsoft Excel, Graphpad Prism, and SPSS--and offers clear, step-by-step instructions for essential data analysis and graphical/tabular display of data.    Beginning with fundamental statistics terminology and concepts, including data types, descriptive statistics (central and spread of data), exploratory statistics (graphical display) and inferential statistics (hypothesis testing and correlation), the content gradually builds in complexity, explaining which statistical test is best suited and how to perform it.    A thorough introduction to basic statistical terms and building up to an advanced level of statistical application- ideal for those new to study of statistics  Extensive application of three popular software packages- Microsoft Excel, Graphpad Prism and SPSS  Numerous hands-on examples of performing data analysis using Microsoft Excel, Graphpad Prism, and SPSS  Considers the limitations and errors of statistical analysis  Essential reading for those designing and planning a research project in Biosciences  Perfect for undergraduate students in the life and health sciences, Essential Statistics For Bioscientists will also earn a place in the libraries of anyone studying medicine, nursing, physiotherapy, pharmacy, and dentistry requiring a refresher or primer on statistical fundamentals. 

Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences is an essential companion during laboratory sessions. It is designed to be simple and give clear step by step instructions on essential techniques, supported by relevant diagrams. The book includes the use of particular equipment and how to do simple calculations that students come across regularly in laboratory practicals. Written by experienced lecturers this handy pocket book provides: Simple to follow laboratory techniques Clear use of diagrams and illustrations to explain techniques, procedures and equipment Step by step worked out examples of calculations including concentrations, dilutions and molarity Suitable for all first year university students, the techniques in the book will also be useful for postgraduate and final year project students and enhance the practical and theoretical knowledge of all those studying bioscience related subjects.

Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences is an invaluable guide to getting the most out of your degree, and enhancing your employability skills. The motivational writing style is accessible to students of all levels and a wide range of skills are covered, making this essential reading for all bioscience students. As experienced educators, both authors write specifically with the needs of bioscience students in mind.A particular emphasis on four foundational skills - managing your time well, thinking critically, developing yourself, and employability - empowers you to really get the most out of your degree.Frequent biological examples are incorporated throughout the text, demonstrating the relevance of the skills being discussed to your programme of study.In order to help you succeed in assessments, the authors explain how to communicate your ideas effectively, and how to prepare for and complete exams.

This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas.New to this Edition:- Features new and updated content on the internet and critical thinking, and analytical skills in relation to developing and following through with a research agenda

Scientific research is a proven and powerful tool for discovering the answers to biological questions. As such, today's students need to be well-versed in experimental design, analysis, and the communication of research. Furthermore, they must appreciate how all of these aspects areinterlinked - how, for example, statistics can be used to inform the design of a particular experiment. As a resource which skillfully integrates all of the key aspects relating to biological research, Research Methods for the Biosciences is the perfect guide for undergraduates.

Fully revised for the third edition, this popular text provides an advanced yet accessible introduction to the tools, terminology and research perspectives that students need to know in order to engage in academic debate and successfully complete research-based assignments. It first explores the language and nature of research, before developing readers' understanding of different research methods and the role of theory in research. Chapters are complemented by examples, boxed summaries of key ideas and suggestions for further reading.This text will be an essential resource for advanced undergraduates and postgraduates of all disciplines.New to this Edition:- Includes new examples and material on managing the research process