LibGuides: Law: Law

Subject Resources for Law

Welcome to the Law Resources Guide. These pages highlight key resources which can be used to support your research in Law and all law related subjects.

Legal Information Databases

Log on to a database in order to find journal articles, cases and legislation. Use the Quick Guide to help get you started in your searching.

Westlaw
Find legislation, cases, journal articles, European Union, US law, international law and insight into a myriad of legal topics.

Westlaw Quick Guide

Lexis
Find legislation, cases, journal articles, commentary, and quantum reports on personal injuries dating back to 1936. Also includes Halsbury's Laws, All England Law Reports, Family Law Reports, Industrial Relations Law Reports, Personal Injury resources and Legislation Direct.

Lexis Quick Guide

Academic Article Databases

Log on to a database in order to find journal articles and case studies. Use the Quick Guide to help get you started in your searching.

JSTOR
Academic journal articles from law and social science journals.

JSTOR Quick Guide

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central contains a large criminology, criminal justice and social sciences collection from 1981 to the present day.

ProQuest Central

Other Useful Databases

SAGE Research Methods
Access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos and qualitative methods books. Log in via 'Institution' then the 'OpenAthens' button.
Kanopy
Kanopy provides access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases on every topic imaginable, including law and criminal justice.

Journals

Go direct to the academic Law journal of your choice using the links below.

Printed Books

Books will give you an overview of a subject and associated theories. They are not sufficient sources of information by themselves but they will give you a good base knowledge of a topic before you expand your search to the journals and databases. The printed law books are found on the 1st floor of the Stratford campus library.

See below for the class marks and links to the major subject areas in Law:

E-Books

The Library has an extensive collection of e-books which can be found via the Library Search catalogue. To filter the results to show only e-books, click on the link to 'Full text online' on the right-hand side.

There is also the E-Book Central catalogue for books on all subjects.

In order to get the best from your studies, please see this list of books that can help you with starting university, writing essays and doing successful research in your chosen topic.

For further help with writing essays, developing your numeracy and referencing your assignments, please speak to the Academic Tutors.

How to Succeed at University by Julie Fowlie; Bob Smale
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781446204962
Publication Date: 2011
How to Succeed at University is a uniquely comprehensive study skills and personal development guide, incorporating coverage of personal skills, academic skills and job search skills within the framework of personal development planning. All the key skills are covered, with a strong focus on the importance of the continuing personal development process and the ultimate goal of employability. In terms of personal skills, the book offers advice on handling stress, time management and developing interpersonal skills. The academic skills section concentrates on the skills crucial for learning effectively, carrying out research, writing up your work and tackling exams. The job search skills covered include discussion of how to identify the best job according to skill set and how to stand out in the applications and selection process. This book will be an essential companion for all undergraduate students, whatever their subject of study, and for those preparing for study at University. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university.
The Study Skills Handbook by Stella Cottrell
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781137610874
Publication Date: 2019
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New to this Edition: - Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments - New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays - More emphasis on reflective learning - Extended guidance on how to balance study with work - More use of visuals to summarise key learning points
How to Study the Law by Anthony Bradney
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780414061538
Publication Date: 2021
How to Study Law equips new law students with the vital foundation skills for the successful study of law. It introduces students to the system and sources of English law, and goes on to demonstrate how to find, read and analyse a variety of legal materials - cases, statutes, articles and research reports - in print and online, using original sources. Diagrams, worked examples and practical exercises allow students to practice and test their new skills.
Learning Legal Skills and Reasoning by Sharon Hanson; Tobias Kliem; Ben Waters
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781000427028
Publication Date: 2021
Language skills, study skills, argument skills and the skills associated with dispute resolution are vital to every law student, professional lawyer and academic. The 5th edition of Learning Legal Skills and Reasoning draws on a range of areas of law to show how these key skills can be learnt and mastered, bridging the gap between substantive legal subjects and the skills required to become a successful law student.　 The book is split into four sections: Sources of law: Including domestic, European and international law. Working with the law: Featuring advice on how to find and understand the most appropriate legislation and cases. Applying your research: How to construct a legal argument, answer a problem question and present orally (mooting). Skills for solving disputes: From negotiation to mediation and beyond. Packed full of practical examples and diagrams to illustrate each legal skill, this new edition has been fully updated and now includes a new chapter on drafting. It will be an essential companion for any student wishing to acquire the legal skills necessary to become a successful law student.　
The Insider's Guide to Legal Skills by Emily Allbon; Sanmeet Kaur Dua
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781003041863
Publication Date: 2023
Confused by cases? Stuck on statutes? Or just unsure where to start with writing, research or revision? The Insider's Guide to Legal Skills will show you what you need to succeed, applying skills in their real-world context and helping you get to grips with legal method and thinking. Making use of problem-based learning and examples throughout, the fully updated second edition of this practical and accessible guide will provide you with a clear guide to skills within the law degree, including online learning skills. It will show you how to make the most of these skills in assessment, and also help you to see their importance to a future legal career. Designed for students who want a clear overview of what a law degree is all about, the book has been built on the skills curriculum, and is a suitable text for Legal Skills, Methods and Reasoning courses as well as a general introduction to law, or pre-reading for those considering a law degree.
How to Write Law Essays and Exams by Stacie I. Strong
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780192848659
Publication Date: 2022
How to Write Law Essays and Exams provides law students with a practical and proven method of analysing and answering essay and exam questions. The book focuses on those questions that give students the most trouble, namely problem questions, but its techniques are equally applicable to other types of essays.
Research Methods in Law by Dawn Watkins (Editor); Mandy Burton (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 1138230197
Publication Date: 2017
Explaining in clear terms some of the main methodological approaches to legal research, the chapters in this edited collection are written by specialists in their fields, researching in a variety of jurisdictions. Covering a range of topics from Feminist Approaches to Law and Economics, each contributor addresses the topic of 'lay decision makers in the legal system' from their particular methodological perspective, explaining how they would approach the issue and discussing the suitability of their particular method. This focus on one main topic allows the reader to draw comparisons between methods with relative ease. The broad range of contributors makes Research Methods in Law well suited to an international audience, and it is ideal reading for PhD students in law, undergraduate dissertation students in law, LL.M Research students and early year researchers.
Critical Thinking Skills by Stella Cottrell
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781137550507
Publication Date: 2017
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker.This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels. New to this Edition:- Brand new chapter on critical thinking and employability- Includes a wider range of examples to highlight the variety of contexts in which critical thinking can be used- Coverage of both academic and professional forms of critical writingAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/critical-thinking-skills. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.

A collection of inclusive resources are discoverable through our Library catalogue, across all subject areas and specifically for law.

The collection is constantly growing and developing, and we encourage staff and students to help us to raise awareness of the materials available across the School and the wider university community.

The collection can be accessed here. Below are a selection of the texts available.

Decolonisation and Legal Knowledge by Folúke; Adébísí
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781529219371
Publication Date: 2023
The law is heavily implicated in creating, maintaining, and reproducing racialised hierarchies which bring about and preserve acute global disparities and injustices. This essential book provides an examination of the meanings of decolonisation and explores how this examination can inform teaching, researching, and practising of law.It explores the ways in which the foundations of law are entangled in colonial thought and in its [re]production of ideas of commodification of bodies and space-time. Thus, it is an exploration of the ways in which we can use theories and praxes of decolonisation to produce legal knowledge for flourishing futures.
In Black and White by Alexandra Wilson
Call Number: 340.092 WIL
ISBN: 1913068315
Publication Date: 2021
Alexandra Wilson was a teenager when her dear family friend Ayo was stabbed on his way home from football. Ayo's death changed Alexandra. She felt compelled to enter the legal profession in search of answers. As a junior criminal and family law barrister, Alexandra finds herself navigating a world and a set of rules designed by a privileged few. A world in which fellow barristers sigh with relief when a racist judge retires: 'I've got a black kid today and he would have had no hope'. In her debut book, In Black and White, Alexandra re-creates the tense courtroom scenes, the heart-breaking meetings with teenage clients, and the moments of frustration and triumph that make up a young barrister's life. Alexandra shows us how it feels to defend someone who hates the colour of your skin, or someone you suspect is guilty. We see what it is like for children coerced into county line drug deals and the damage that can be caused when we criminalise teenagers.
Alexandra's account of what she has witnessed as a young mixed-race barrister is in equal parts shocking, compelling, confounding and powerful.
Blackstone's Guide to the Equality Act 2010 by Anthony Robinson (Editor); David Ruebain (Editor); Susie Uppal (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 0198870876
Publication Date: 2021
The Equality Act 2010 was an extremely significant reform of the UK discrimination law, consolidating the existing mass of statutory provisions into one statute. The Act brought new rights against discrimination and imposed new duties on employers, service providers, and public authorities. Itdefined nine protected characteristics: age, disability, combined grounds, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation. This fully revised edition covers all recent developments in the law relating to the Equality Act 2010 and considers the impact of exiting the EU, the transitional period, and the implications for the interaction of the Equality Act and EU law post-Brexit. This title includes new cases and judgements in several key sectors, such as employment rights, education, premises, public sector, enforcement, and positive action.
Towards Gender Equality in Law by Gizem Guney (Editor); David Davies (Editor); Po-Han Lee (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 3030980715
Publication Date: 2022
This Open Access book aims to find out how and why states in various regions and of diverse cultural backgrounds fail in their gender equality laws and policies. In doing this, the book maps out states' failures in their legal systems and unpacks the clashes between different levels and forms of law--namely domestic laws, local regulations, or the implementation of international law, individually or in combination. By taking off from the confirmation that the concept of law that is to be used in achieving gender equality is a multidimensional, multi-layered, and to an extent, contradictory phenomenon, this book aims to find out how different layers of laws interact and how they impact gender equality. Further to that, by including different states and jurisdictions into its analysis, this book unravels whether there are any similarities/patterns in how these states define and utilise policies and laws that harm gender equality. In this way, the book contributes to the efforts to devise holistic and universal policies to address various forms of gender inequalities across the world.
Legalizing LGBT Families by Amanda K. Baumle; D'Lane R. Compton
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 1479811815
Publication Date: 2017
The decision to have a child is seldom a simple one, often fraught with complexities regarding emotional readiness, finances, marital status, and compatibility with life and career goals. Rarely, though, do individuals consider the role of the law in facilitating or inhibiting their ability to have a child or to parent. For LGBT individuals, however, parenting is saturated with legality - including the initial decision of whether to have a child, how to have a child, whether one's relationship with their child will be recognized, and everyday acts of parenting like completing forms or picking up children from school. Through in-depth interviews with 137 LGBT parents, Amanda K. Baumle and D'Lane R. Compton examine the role of the law in the lives of LGBT parents and how individuals use the law when making decisions about family formation or parenting. Baumle and Compton explore the ways in which LGBT parents participate in the process of constructing legality through accepting, modifying, or rejecting legal meanings about their families. Few groups encounter as much variation in access to everyday legal rights pertaining to the family as do LGBT parents. This complexity and variation in legal environments provides a rather unique opportunity to examine the manner in which legal context affects the ways in which individuals come to understand the meaning and utility of the law for their lives.
Ageing, Ageism and the Law by Israel Doron (Editor); Nena Georgantzi (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781788972109
Publication Date: 2018
Europe is ageing. However, in many European countries, and in almost all fields of life, older persons experience discrimination, social exclusion, and negative stereotypes that portray them as different or a burden to society. This pivotal book is the first of its kind, providing a rich and diverse analysis of the inter-relationships between ageing, ageism and law within Europe. Throughout the book - which builds on a European Cooperation in Science & Technology (COST) action - leading scholars offer theoretical and empirical analysis in order to discern the role European law plays in perpetuating and combating ageism. Including specific examples of how stereotypes and prejudices influence and shape the European legal system, the book contributes to the broader current global social movement towards advancing a new international human rights convention for older persons. Timely and engaging, this book will appeal to students and scholars of law, sociology, public policy and a wide range of related fields including gerontology, human rights, and health-studies. Practitioners, policy-makers, civil society organizations and senior citizens activists will also benefit from the insights into the socio-legal aspects of social policies and human rights of older persons.
Discrimination and the Law 2e by Malcolm Sargeant
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781351214131
Publication Date: 2017
Discrimination and the Law provides an exploration and evaluation of discrimination law, focusing primarily on discrimination in employment. Introducing readers to the concepts of equality and the historical origins of discrimination law, Malcolm Sargeant explores the wider political, social and economic contexts through which discrimination law has evolved. The second edition has been thoroughly updated and includes a new chapter considering discrimination against trade unionists, discrimination against 'non-standard' workers as well as the public sector equality duty. The book begins with an examination of what is meant by such concepts as equality and discrimination followed by an analysis of the Equality Act 2010 and the impact of EU and international law. All the protected characteristics contained in the Equality Act 2010 are critically considered (age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation). Issues not covered by the legislation such as those relating to multiple discrimination and caste discrimination are also analysed. Important cases from the UK courts as well as international courts are considered. The book also contains an appendix with the most relevant parts of the 2010 Act.
Disability Human Rights Law by Anna Arstein-Kerslake (Guest Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 3038423890
Publication Date: 2017
Disability Human Rights Law is an emerging field. It is an amalgamation of human rights law, disability studies, and disability rights law. It views rights in a novel way, opening a new line of scholarly inquiry. It sees rights as they apply to the individual, with regard to the individual's particular abilities, needs, and circumstances. Disability Human Rights Law represents a shift in the field of human rights. The traditional, and often archaic, rights boundaries are broken down. Civil and political rights exist entwined with social, economic, and cultural rights. The rights of the community and the rights of the individual are not always distinguishable and are often dependent upon one another. The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) is the epitome of this shift and the epicenter of a new wave of rights protection.
Black Women and International Law by Jeremy I. Levitt (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 1107021308
Publication Date: 2015
From Compton to Cairo, Bahia to Brixton, black women have been disproportionally affected by poverty, illiteracy, unemployment, discrimination and violence. Despite being one of the largest and geographically dispersed groups in the world, they are rarely referenced or considered as a subject of analysis in international law literature. Thus, it is vital that scholars refashion global discourse by re-conceptualizing international law and relations from their unique experiences and perspectives. This collection covers a broad range of topics and issues that examine the complex interactions - as subjects and objects - between black women and international law. The book critically explores the manifold relationship between them with a view toward highlighting the historic and contemporary ways in which they have influenced and been influenced by transnational law, doctrine, norms, jurisprudence, public policy, public discourse and global governance. It purports to unearth old law and fashion new paradigms born out of the experiences of black women.

Law

Academic Services Librarian for Business & Law

Upcoming Events