Economics

This engaging text shows students what markers look for in their work and helps them to develop the skills they need to produce a first-class essay. It focuses on all the core elements of effective essay writing, including devising a question, critical thinking, engaging with the literature and structuring an essay. Chapters include clear and concise guidance on meeting marking criteria, illustrated with real students’ essays from a range of disciplines, and activities which encourage students to put their new skills into practice.

How to Succeed at University is a uniquely comprehensive study skills and personal development guide, incorporating coverage of personal skills, academic skills and job search skills within the framework of personal development planning.     All the key skills are covered, with a strong focus on the importance of the continuing personal development process and the ultimate goal of employability. In terms of personal skills, the book offers advice on handling stress, time management and developing interpersonal skills. The academic skills section concentrates on the skills crucial for learning effectively, carrying out research, writing up your work and tackling exams. The job search skills covered include discussion of how to identify the best job according to skill set and how to stand out in the applications and selection process.   This book will be an essential companion for all undergraduate students, whatever their subject of study, and for those preparing for study at University. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university.

Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker.This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels. New to this Edition:- Brand new chapter on critical thinking and employability- Includes a wider range of examples to highlight the variety of contexts in which critical thinking can be used- Coverage of both academic and professional forms of critical writingAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/critical-thinking-skills. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.

This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work.

This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style.This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree. New to this Edition:- Includes expanded material on research ethics- Contains two new chapters on presenting research posters and delivering oral presentationsAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/how-to-write-your-undergraduate-dissertation. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.

This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New to this Edition: - Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments - New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays - More emphasis on reflective learning - Extended guidance on how to balance study with work - More use of visuals to summarise key learning points

"We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises. Written by a team of experts and tested on students, the advice in this book will help you to improve your grades, save time and develop the skills that will make you stand out to prospective employers. Whichever subject you are studying, this practical and concise book will help you find your individual learning style and tell you exactly what you need to know to excel as a student: Working out the best way for you to learn Doing your research Presentations Revising for exams Improving your critical thinking skills Managing your time

The Business Student's Handbook, 7th edition, by Sheila Cameron brings together personal skills, study skills and employability skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional life. Designed to support both online and face-to-face study, the book discusses transferable skills such as self-management, teamwork, planning and critical thinking to help you become a highly desirable graduate.

This comprehensive guide to conducting research will support you step-by-step at every stage of the process, offering a wealth of thought-provoking features and activities, such as tips and tricks from other students’ experiences on their research projects and a complete glossary of terms. It provides case studies, news, and articles based on the latest virtual and face-to-face methods, discussing how research is used in practice within organisations worldwide. Self-study prompts will further encourage you to apply what you have learned to your own research project.

Thomas Piketty--whose Capital in the Twenty-First Century pushed inequality to the forefront of public debate--wrote The Economics of Inequality as an introduction to the conceptual and factual background necessary for interpreting changes in economic inequality over time. This concise text has established itself as an indispensable guide for students and general readers in France, where it has been regularly updated and revised. Translated by Arthur Goldhammer, The Economics of Inequality now appears in English for the first time. Piketty begins by explaining how inequality evolves and how economists measure it. In subsequent chapters, he explores variances in income and ownership of capital and the variety of policies used to reduce these gaps. Along the way, with characteristic clarity and precision, he introduces key ideas about the relationship between labor and capital, the effects of different systems of taxation, the distinction between "historical" and "political" time, the impact of education and technological change, the nature of capital markets, the role of unions, and apparent tensions between the pursuit of efficiency and the pursuit of fairness. Succinct, accessible, and authoritative, this is the ideal place to start for those who want to understand the fundamental issues at the heart of one of the most pressing concerns in contemporary economics and politics.

This volume contains research on how we measure poverty, inequality and welfare and how we use such measurements to devise policies to deliver social mobility. It contains ten papers, some of which were presented at the third meeting of The Theory and Empirics of Poverty, Inequality and Mobility at Queen Mary University of London, London, October 2016. The volume begins with theoretical issues at the frontier of the literature. Three papers discuss the impact of social welfare policies on poverty measurement, and with innovations on the measurement of relative bipolarisation. Two papers address the conceptualisation of multidimensional poverty by incorporating inequality within the poor, and that of chronic poverty for time dependent analyses, with applications to India and Haiti, and Ethiopia respectively. The second half of the volume consists of empirical contributions, using novel techniques and datasets to investigate the dynamics of poverty and welfare. These studies track the dynamics of poverty using unique datasets for China, the Caucasus and Italy. The volume concludes with investigations about within-household inequalities between siblings due to the unequal effects of conditional cash transfers in Cambodia and a cross-country study on the effect of historical income inequality on entrepreneurship in developing countries.

This report seeks to explain the over-time trends in wage inequality in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) since the mid-1990s. It explains how wage inequality has been associated with household-income inequality in LAC in the past decades, and discusses how labor-supply and labour-demand trends have affected wage inequality. The Latin American region achieved something truly remarkable during the 2000s: it sustained vigorous economic growth with declining inequality. Other regions in the world grew strongly during this period, but this growth was not shared equitably. However, lower commodity prices and slower growth in China have reduced Latin America's growth prospects in recent years. At the same time, inequality reduction has halted in many countries. As the new low-growth scenario hits labor markets, it is important to ask whether the social gains of the 2000s can be sustained. Will lower wage growth occur across all segments of the wage distribution in Latin America, or will the slowdown disproportionately hurt those who have less? Will the economic slowdown put the brakes on the reduction of wage inequality in Latin America? To answer these forward-looking questions and to know what to expect, it is essential to understand the causes of the observed changes in wage inequality in the past decades, which is the focus of this research project.

More than 25 experts from around the world have contributed to this unique and provocative book. In a series of illuminating short essays, each author has presented a striking image as an invitation to consider the ghosts of colonialism and imperialism in today's global economy. In defiance of those who claim that today's capitalist system is free of racism and exploitation, this book shows that the past is not behind us, it defines our world and our lives. This book takes the reader on a global tour, from Malaysia to Canada, from Angola to Mexico, from Libya to China, from the City of London to the Australian outback, from the deep sea to the atmosphere. Along the way we meet the financiers, artists, advertisers, activists and everyday people who are grappling with the entangled legacies of empire.

On a number of occasions in the past 50 years, forces for expansion, growth and economic empowerment in the African business environment have seemed to appear, only for the opportunities to fade. This time is different. As David Mataen explains, it is now Africa's moment to take its place as the ultimate source of long-term business and investment opportunities.Meeting a demand for information on what is happening in the African business landscape and where the most exciting investment opportunities lie, Africa's Economic Moment elucidates Africa's robust investment case in a structured manner. It provides a concise, current analysis of the latest market dynamics; a description of the fundamental framework underpinning the growth of African markets; and the primary investment themes and strategies within seven key consumer sectors for the immediate future and the long term.This primer on the current state and future trajectory of the African economic situation will leave you more informed about the key themes and most important investment areas in the continent. This is Africa's economic moment - don't miss the opportunity.

China's rapid socio-economic development has achieved remarkable equalizing conditions between men and women in the aspects of health, education and labor force participation, but the glass ceiling phenomenon has become more prominent. The book develops a cross-disciplinary paradigm, with economics at its core, to better understand gender in China and women in management in the Chinese business context. The theoretical perspective integrates the knowledge and evidence from cognate disciplinary strands, such as economics, sociology, management studies, and the Chinese literature, into one unified framework. In-depth interviews with managers in China's largest enterprises complement the theoretical perspective with rich empirical details to examine women's managerial experiences and career choices. The book's argument sheds light on the power of stereotypes that specify women's roles in the family, organization, and society. It shows that understanding the socio-psychological and organizational dynamics of stereotyping in the Chinese context, as well as how Chinese women make career decisions, recognizing and deploying these expectations, provides new perspectives on the underrepresentation of women among business leaders in China. The book offers multi-disciplinary evidence on the economics of gender in China that is highly relevant for gender studies in general, and across a number of subject areas, and it can be used in any setting as an introductory reference.

This is the first book that takes a theoretical approach to the effects of international immigration by considering the current economic topics confronted by more highly developed countries such as Japan. Developed here is the classic trade model by Heckscher-Ohlin-Samuelson, McDougall's basic model of the international movement factor, the urban-rural migration model by Harris-Todaro, and Copeland-Taylor's well-known model in the field of environmental economics by introducing new trends such as economic integration including free trade and factor mobility between countries at different stages of development. Coexistence of two types of immigrants - legal, skilled workers and illegal, unskilled workers - without any explicit signs of discrimination, transboundary pollution caused by neighboring lower-developed countries with poor pollution abatement technology, difficult international treatment of transboundary renewable resources, the rapid process of aging and population decrease, the higher unemployment rate of younger generations, and the serious gap between permanent and temporary employed workers--are also considered in this book as new and significant topics under the context of international immigration. Taking into account the special difficulties of those serious problems in Asia, each chapter illustrates Japanese and other Asian situations that encourage readers to understand the importance of optimal immigration policies. Also shown is the possibility that economic integration and liberalization of international immigration should bring about positive effects on the economic welfare of the developed host country including the aspects of natural environment, renewable transboundary resources, the rate of unemployment, and the wage gap between workers.

"Thought provoking and fresh - this book challenges how we think about economics." Gillian Tett, Financial Times. For decades investment has been falling, living standards have stagnated or declined, and inequality has risen dramatically. Economic policy has neither reformed the financial system nor restored stable growth. Climate change meanwhile poses increasing risks to future prosperity.  In this book some of the world's leading economists propose new ways of thinking about capitalism. In clear and compelling prose, each chapter shows how today's deep economic problems reflect the inadequacies of orthodox economic theory and the failure of policies informed by it. The chapters examine a range of contemporary economic issues, including fiscal and monetary policy, financial markets and business behaviour, inequality and privatisation, and innovation and environmental change. The authors set out alternative economic approaches which better explain how capitalism works, why it often doesn't, and how it can be made more innovative, inclusive and sustainable. Outlining a series of far-reaching policy reforms, Rethinking Capitalism offers a powerful challenge to mainstream economic debate, and new ideas to transform it.  

This classic study extends feminist analysis to economics, but rejects setting up an economics solely for women. It is the first full length, single authored book to focus on gender bias in contemporary economics.

Economics has tended to be a very male, middle class, white discipline. Introducing Race and Gender into Economics is a ground-breaking book which generates ideas for integrating race and gender issues into introductory eocnomics courses. Each section gives an overview of how to modify standard courses, including macroeconomics, methodology, microeconomics as well as race and gender-sensitive issues. This up-to-date work will be of increasing importance to all teachers of introductory economics.

Cross-cultural exchange has characterized the economic life of India since antiquity. Its long coastline has afforded convenient access to Asia and Africa as well as trading partnerships formed in the exchange of commodities ranging from textiles to military technology and from opium to indigo. In a journey across two thousand years, this enthralling book, written by a leading South Asian historian, describes the ties of trade, migration, and investment between India and the rest of the world and shows how changing patterns of globalization have reverberated in economic policy, politics, and political ideology within India. Along the way, the book asks three major questions: Is this a particularly Indian story? When did the big turning points happen? And is it possible to distinguish the modern from the pre-modern pattern of exchange? These questions invite a new approach to the study of Indian history by placing the region at the center of the narrative. This is global history written on India's terms, and, as such, the book invites Indian, South Asian, and global historians to rethink both their history and their methodologies.