Academic Services Librarian for Business & Law
Kelly Travers
She/Her
Contact:
I am currently working on campus 3 days a week and from home 2 days. Please email me in the first instance for research advice or a Teams 1-2-1 appointment.
Website
Upcoming Events
Loading ...
Subject Resources for Criminology and Policing
Welcome to the Criminology and Policing Guide. These pages highlight key resources which can be used to support your research in Criminology and Policing, and all related subjects.
To see extra resources for students on the Babcock policing apprentices programme, please see this Teams page.
Academic Article Databases
Log on to a database in order to find journal articles and case studies Use the Quick Guide to help get you started in your searching.
- ProQuest CentralProQuest Central contains a large criminology, criminal justice and social sciences collection from 1981 to the present day.
- JSTORAcademic articles from law and social sciences journals.
- EmeraldPeer-reviewed journal articles from social sciences academic journals.
Legal Information Databases
- WestlawFind legislation, cases, journal articles, European Union, US law and insight into a myriad of legal topics.
- LexisFind legislation, cases, journal articles and legal commentary.
Other Useful Databases
- Policing InsightPolicing Insight is the leading platform to keep up with the latest in progressive policing. It is where the global police and criminal justice community both consume and share knowledge, opinion and analysis.
You will need to subscribe with your UEL email address to obtain a login. - Research in PracticeAn organisation supporting practice in social work and criminal justice. Find articles on child protection, domestic abuse, sexual harm and substance abuse. To login, go to 'Sign in' and choose 'university login'.
- SAGE Research MethodsAccess to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos and qualitative methods books. Log in via 'Institution' then the 'OpenAthens' button.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.
- KanopyKanopy provides access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases on every topic imaginable, including areas of law and criminal justice.
- LinkedIn LearningSign in with your UEL credentials to find 1000s of short courses to improve your professional skills.
Journals
Go direct to the academic criminology or policing journal of your choice using the links below.
Printed Books
Books will give you an overview of a subject and associated theories. They are not sufficient sources of information by themselves but they will give you a good base knowledge of a topic before you expand your search to the journals and databases. The printed Criminology and Policing books are found on the 1st floor of the Stratford campus library.
See below for the class marks and links to the major subject areas in Criminology and Policing:
E-Books
The Library has an extensive collection of e-books which can be found via the Library Search catalogue. To filter the results to show only e-books, click on the link to 'Full text online' on the right-hand side.
There is also the E-Book Central catalogue for books on all subjects.
Research and Study Skills
In order to get the best from your studies, please see this list of books that can help you with starting university, writing essays and doing successful research in your chosen topic.
For further help with writing essays, developing your numeracy and referencing your assignments, please speak to the Academic Tutors.
How to Succeed at University by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781446204962Publication Date: 2011How to Succeed at University is a uniquely comprehensive study skills and personal development guide, incorporating coverage of personal skills, academic skills and job search skills within the framework of personal development planning. All the key skills are covered, with a strong focus on the importance of the continuing personal development process and the ultimate goal of employability. In terms of personal skills, the book offers advice on handling stress, time management and developing interpersonal skills. The academic skills section concentrates on the skills crucial for learning effectively, carrying out research, writing up your work and tackling exams.
The Study Skills Handbook by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781137610874Publication Date: 2019This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability.
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780335240074Publication Date: 2010"We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes. Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises.
Research Methods for Criminology and Criminal Justice by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781538129524Publication Date: 2021Research Methods for Criminology and Criminal Justice is a core text for criminology and criminal justice research methods courses. It strives to offer a general foundation of knowledge that transcends particular topics or subject areas, allowing students to apply research methods and concepts to a multitude of scenarios.
Critical Thinking Skills by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781137550507Publication Date: 2017Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing.
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781352005226Publication Date: 2019This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
How to Write your Literature Review by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781352011050Publication Date: 2020This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work.
Academic Writing and Referencing for Your Policing Degree by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781913063412Publication Date: 2020If you are embarking on a university criminology, policing or other law enforcement professional degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Criminology and Criminal Justice by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781315310268Publication Date: 2018A broad and comprehensive guide to the study of criminology and criminal justice at undergraduate level, this book is essential reading for new students. Assuming no prior knowledge, it offers an essential overview to key themes and issues, brings together theory with practice, and provides useful hints and suggestions for developing the skills required to see you on your way throughout your degree. Features of the book include: A detailed discussion of the study of criminology and criminal justice in Higher Education, An overview of theories of crime and deviance, A discussion as to why and how we punish offenders, An exploration of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, A guide to criminological research and the methods and concepts involved.
Introduction to Policing Research by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1317747070Publication Date: 2016The expansion of degrees and postgraduate qualifications on policing has come hand in hand with the need for a more scholarly and research-based approach to the subject. Students are increasingly encouraged to apply research to practice and this book is specifically designed to bring clarity to the concept of empirical research in policing. As an introduction to the theoretical explanations and assumptions that underpin the rationale of research design in policing, this book clearly illustrates the practical and ethical issues facing empirical research in a policing context, as well as the limitations of such research.
Communication Skills for Your Policing Degree by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781913063498Publication Date: 2020If you are embarking on a university criminology, policing or other law enforcement professional degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Critical Thinking Skills for Your Policing Degree by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781913063450Publication Date: 2020If you are embarking on a university criminology, policing or other law enforcement professional degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Diverse Perspectives
A collection of resources from diverse perspectives are discoverable through our Library catalogue, across all subject areas and specifically for criminology and policing.
The collection is constantly growing and developing, and we encourage staff and students to help us to raise awareness of the materials available across the School and the wider university community.
The collection can be accessed here. Below are a selection of the texts available.
Race and Policing by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781680786262Publication Date: 2017Race and Policing examines recent incidents of minorities being mistreated or dying in police custody, delving into the historical institutions and laws that underpin today's system and exploring what police departments and the communities they serve are doing to improve communication and relationships. Features include essential facts, a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Policing Beyond Macpherson by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781843922124Publication Date: 2007The book will explore the impact of the Lawrence Report since it was published in 1999. Upon publication, Home Secretary Jack Straw promised that the Macpherson Inquiry would lead to real change in the policing of minority ethnic communities in Britain. Several senior police officers made similar pledges and insisted that the benchmark against which their commitment should be judged should be the extent to which progress was made 'on the ground'. In the aftermath of the report a host of initiatives have addressed issues ranging from police liaison with victims, first aid training, to stop and search procedures and police complaints.
Gender and Policing by Call Number: 363.2204 WESISBN: 1903240700Publication Date: 2002Gender and Policing is an innovative study of the real world of street policing and the gender issues which are a central part of this. Derived from extensive ethnographic research (involving police responses to gangland shootings, high speed car chases as well as more routine policing activities), this book examines the way police attitudes and beliefs combine to perpetuate a working culture which is dependent upon traditional conceptions of 'male' and 'female'. In doing so it challenges previously held assumptions about the way women are harassed, manipulated and constrained, focusing rather on the more subtle impact of structures and norms within police culture.
Dealing with Vulnerable Suspects in Police Interviews by Call Number: 363.254 BECISBN: 9783668337985Publication Date: 2016To raise more awareness on this sensitive subject, this paper is going to deal with how policemen carry out suspect interrogations in order to obtain a suspect's confession. Special attention is dedicated to the so called 'vulnerable suspects', which should be treated with a lot of care and sensitivity while conducting police interviews. In reality, some interrogation methods used by the police include accusations and are coercive, which tends to force vulnerable suspects to confess to a crime he or she has never committed. The consequences an innocent suspect has to face due to a forced confession can be far-reaching and, in the worst case, deadly.
Blackstone's Guide to the Equality Act 2010 by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780192643919Publication Date: 2021This fully revised edition covers all recent developments in the law relating to the Equality Act 2010 and considers the impact of exiting the EU, the transitional period, and the implications for the interaction of the Equality Act and EU law post-Brexit. This title includes new cases and judgements in several key sectors, such as employment rights, education, premises, public sector, enforcement, and positive action. Combining the full text of the Act, as amended, with narrative from an expert team, the book is an invaluable resource for all who encounter the evolving legislation.
Mental Health and the Criminal Justice System by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781910391907Publication Date: 2016The Criminal Justice System is becoming a de facto provider of mental health care, according to a series of recent prison inspections and reports on policing and mental illness which have highlighted the crisis in mental health services. However, the pressures on prisons and other areas of the CJS mean that the needs of those with mental health problems are often overlooked. This book examines the experiences of people with mental health problems across all stages of the CJS and across all the points of contact - police, Courts and prisons between the CJS and people with mental health problems.
Unhappy Dialogue by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781138175754Publication Date: 2016This book is concerned with the origins of the often difficult relationship between the Metropolitan Police and London's West Indian community, and is the first detailed account of the relationship between them during the crucial early decades of largescale immigration. It shows how and why the early seeds of mistrust between police and black immigrants were sown, culminating in the subsequent riots and public enquiries - in particular the Scarman and MacPherson enquiries.
Disability Hate Crimes by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1409407810Publication Date: 2010Disability hate crimes are a global problem. They are often violent and hyper-aggressive, with life-changing effects on victims, and they send consistent messages of intolerance and bigotry. This ground-breaking book shows that disability hate crimes do exist, that they have unique characteristics which distinguish them from other hate crimes, and that more effective policies and practices can and must be developed to respond and prevent them. With particular focus on the UK and USA's contrasting response to this issue, this book will help readers to define hate crimes as well as place them within their wider social context.
Reimagining Restorative Justice by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1849460566Publication Date: 2017"Restorative justice theory has largely failed to keep pace with the rapid expansion of restorative practices worldwide - indeed, it is remarkable how much support RJ has when so few advocates can even define what it is. As such, this insightful and comprehensive new contribution from two of the top scholars on the frontlines of restorative justice research is hugely welcome." Professor Shadd Maruna, Centre for Criminology and Criminal Justice, University of Manchester "Reimagining Restorative Justice is a reflective and balanced reconsideration of restorative justice. It deftly sweeps across the large literature on the subject, putting it in perspective, seeing anew through its wide-angle lens. Empowerment and accountability provide a fertile framework for this richly reimagined justice." Professor John Braithwaite, Australian National University.
Safeguarding Adults and the Law, Third Edition by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781784504991Publication Date: 2019Safeguarding Adults and the Law, now in its third edition, sets this complex area of work within an extensive legal framework and provides many useful pointers for practitioners and students. It is now in an A-Z format, enabling quick reference to a wide range of civil and criminal law, and to legal case law. The book covers safeguarding duties under the Care Act 2014 and in particular the making of enquiries by local authorities, safeguarding adults boards, Department of Health guidance, human rights, regulation of health and social care providers, barring of carers from working with vulnerable adults, criminal records certificates, mental capacity, the High Court's inherent jurisdiction, undue influence, assault, battery, wilful neglect, ill treatment, self-neglect, manslaughter, murder, theft, fraud, sexual offences, modern slavery, domestic violence legislation, data protection and the sharing of information.
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1461491886Publication Date: 2013Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities' patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will break new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work.
