Nursing

Subject Support Guide for Nursing

Welcome to the subject page for Nursing. These pages highlight key resources which can be used to support your research in Nursing.

Finding Nursing Research

Databases provide an interface that enables you to search thousands of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and more. They will include either the full text of journal articles or the article abstracts.

A complete A-Z list of all databases​ is available on the library website.

Databases

• BioDigital
Explore anatomy, conditions and treatments in interactive 3D on the BioDigital Human Platform

• BioMed Central

  Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine.

• Cochrane Library​

  The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply evidence of the effects of health care and to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.

• EBSCO - Academic Search Ultimate

  Academic Search Complete covers nearly every area of academic study. It includes more than 8,500 full-text journals, 7,300 of which are peer-reviewed.

• EBSCO ​​Cinahl Complete

  Cinahl Plus is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

• EBSCO ​​PsycINFO

  PsycINFO provides abstracts for over three million articles from over 2,500 different journals

• Lexis

  Provides access to UK Newspapers

• ProQuest

  ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

• PubMed

  PubMed provides access to bibliographic information in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences and life sciences. It includes the database MEDLINE which contains over 15 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's.

• Science Direct

  Science Direct offers access to the full text of more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science including the social sciences.

• Scopus

  Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.

Useful Journals

• Journal of Advanced Nursing

  The Journal of Advanced Nursing is a monthly, peer-reviewed scientific journal published by Wiley that covers all aspects of evidence-based nursing, midwifery and healthcare.

• Nursing Times

  Nursing Times is a monthly magazine for nurses in the United Kingdom. The magazine and its website publish original nursing research and a variety of clinical articles for nurses at all stages in their career.

• Nursing Standard

  Nursing Standard is a weekly professional magazine that contains peer-reviewed articles and research, news, and career information for the nursing field.