LibGuides: Engineering and Construction Management: Engineering and Construction Management

Welcome to the Engineering and Construction Management Guide. This guide highlights the key resources which can be used to support your research in these areas.

Databases

There are several databases that are very useful in the area of civil engineering and construction management. The databases we subscribe to give you access to material such as expensive technical information, journal articles, and e-books free of charge. Much of the information that you will find in these databases has been quality-assured and peer-reviewed.

Key databases

British Standards Online
Searchable database of British Standards, Eurocodes and International Standards (ISO).
Construction Information Service
Contains a range of technical information from publishers such as the British Standards Institute and the BRE. It provides full-text access to current regulations, standards, technical advice and an array of related news and briefings.
ICE Virtual Library
A comprehensive online resource from the Institution of Civil Engineers, which gives access to ICE journals and e-books that the library subscribes to.
IEEE Xplore
Includes access to the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (journals, standards, conference proceedings) and the IEEE-Wiley ebooks Library.

Other databases of interest

ABI Inform
A useful database for business information, case studies and engineering management. Full text titles include Building Services Engineering Research & Technology, Engineering Management Journal, and Engineering Business Journal.
Construction Website
The Construction Web Site contains information on building construction and history. It draws upon various sources including manufacturers, specialist contractors, surveyors, building control officers, trade bodies, early text books and trade catalogues, county & city record offices, museums.
Digimap
Up-to-date OS maps and geospatial data are available online from Digimap. You will need to sign in with your OpenAthens account and then register with Digimap to use the service. Your account will be activated within two days. You will then receive an email at your university email address and will be able to access Digimap with your Athens details. For further information check out the Digimap help page or the UEL Digimap Quick Guide
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
There are a number of journals on this database which relate to the field of Civil Engineering and Engineering in general. Full text titles include Engineering Management, Land Use Law Report, and the Journal of Construction in Developing Countries.
EBSCO GreenFILE
If you are interested in green issues in Engineering, you will find this database a useful source of information.
Emerald
Contains some useful content in the area of engineering management. Full text titles include Facilities, Property Management, Journal of Property Finance, Journal of Property Investment and Finance, Journal of Quality in Maintenance Engineering, and Structural Survey.
Nexis
This is a database for newspapers primarily, such as the Financial Times; however it does also have a large collection of industry related publications like Construction News.
O'Reilly Safari
O'Reilly Safari includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Science Direct
A useful multidisciplinary database with some journals in the field of engineering.
Scopus
The largest abstract and citation database for peer-reviewed research, Scopus is a detailed index covering all subject areas.

Construction Films

There are currently 15 films in the series.

Construction Films series