Academic Services Librarian for Business & Law
Kelly Travers
She/Her
Contact:
I am currently working on campus 3 days a week and from home 2 days. Please email me in the first instance for research advice or a Teams 1-2-1 appointment.
Website
Upcoming Events
Loading ...
Subject Resources for Tourism, Hospitality, Event and Sport Management
Welcome to the Tourism, Hospitality, Event and Sport Management Guide. These pages highlight key resources which can be used to support your research in Tourism, Hospitality, Events and Sport Management, and all business related subjects.
Academic Article Databases
Log on to a database in order to find journal articles, case studies, industry and company information. Use the Quick Guide to help get you started in your searching.
- ProQuest One BusinessProquest OB is a business and management database with worldwide coverage. It contains articles from thousands of business journals and newspapers, plus company and industry reports. It covers all aspects of business but especially management, finance, accounting, economics, human resources and marketing.
- EBSCO Hospitality and Tourism CompleteHospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 749,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. Full text is available for 440 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
- EmeraldEmerald Insight provides access to a wide range of titles and is especially relevant for anyone looking for business, tourism or management information. UEL currently has access to almost 200 Emerald e-journals.
- Science DirectScience Direct offers access to the full text of more than 1,100 journals across sixteen fields of science including tourism and hospitality. It has full text access to Annals of Tourism Research journal.
Business Information Databases
- Financial TimesFT.com delivers in-depth global news and financial information, as it happens. One of the world’s leading business news and information organisations, recognised for authority, integrity and accuracy. FT.com provides a broad range of essential services to the growing audience of internationally-minded business people.
You must register for an FT account using your UEL email address.
If you do not receive the confirmation email from the FT within 3 days, please contact them directly at customer.support@ft.com.
- Passport (formerly Euromonitor)The Passport database is an integrated online business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. It offers a range of international market research.
- Sport BusinessSport Business is a professional global intelligence service, providing news, analysis and data.
Go to Login and use the 'Open Athens' option to enter 'East London', then follow the link to UEL.
Other Useful Databases
- SAGE Business CasesUse SAGE Business cases to search current and international case studies on all aspects of the subject.
- SAGE Research MethodsAccess to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos and qualitative methods books. Log in via 'Institution' then the 'OpenAthens' button.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.
- KanopyKanopy provides access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases on every topic imaginable, including business and tourism/hospitality topic areas.
- LinkedIn LearningSign in with your UEL credentials to find 1000s of short courses to improve your professional skills.
Journals
Go direct to the academic journal of your choice using the links below.
Printed Books
Books will give you an overview of a subject and associated theories. They are not sufficient sources of information by themselves but they will give you a good base knowledge of a topic before you expand your search to the journals and databases. The printed books for Tourism, Hospitality, Event and Sports Management are found on the 1st and 2nd floors of the Docklands campus library.
See below for the class marks and links to the major subject areas in Tourism, Hospitality, Event and Sports Management:
E-Books
The Library has an extensive collection of e-books which can be found via the Library Search catalogue. To filter the results to show only e-books, click on the link to 'Full text online' on the right-hand side.
There is also the E-Book Central catalogue for books on all subjects.
Research and Study Skills
In order to get the best from your studies, please see this list of books that can help you with starting university, writing essays and doing successful research in your chosen topic.
For further help with writing essays, developing your numeracy and referencing your assignments, please speak to the Academic Tutors.
How to Succeed at University by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781446204962Publication Date: 2011How to Succeed at University is a uniquely comprehensive study skills and personal development guide, incorporating coverage of personal skills, academic skills and job search skills within the framework of personal development planning. All the key skills are covered, with a strong focus on the importance of the continuing personal development process and the ultimate goal of employability. In terms of personal skills, the book offers advice on handling stress, time management and developing interpersonal skills.
Critical Thinking Skills by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781137550507Publication Date: 2017Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker.
How to Write Your Literature Review by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781352011050Publication Date: 2020This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work.
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781352005226Publication Date: 2019This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
The Study Skills Handbook by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781137610874Publication Date: 2019This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability.
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780335240074Publication Date: 2010"We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success.
The Business Student's Handbook by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781292304595Publication Date: 2021The Business Student's Handbook, 7th edition, by Sheila Cameron brings together personal skills, study skills and employability skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional life. Designed to support both online and face-to-face study, the book discusses transferable skills such as self-management, teamwork, planning and critical thinking to help you become a highly desirable graduate.
Research Methods for Leisure and Tourism by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781292115290Publication Date: 2017Now in its fifth edition, Research Methods for Leisure and Tourism has become the ultimate reference text for both students enrolled in undergraduate and postgraduate degrees and practising managers.
This book combines comprehensive coverage of a wide variety of qualitative and quantitative research methods with step-by step guidance through research software including Excel, SPSS and NVivo.
Research Methods for Sport Management by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780415572569Publication Date: 2014Research methods courses have become a compulsory component of most degree programs in sport management. This is the first introductory research methods textbook to focus exclusively on sport management. Through the use of examples, cases and data taken from the real world of sport management it opens up a traditionally dry area of study, helping the student to understand the vital importance of sound methodology in their studies and subsequent professional practice. The book covers the full range of quantitative and qualitative methods across the whole span of the research process, from research design and the literature review to data analysis and report writing.
Research Themes for Events by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1789244463Publication Date: 2013Events Management as a subject has been well documented from a practical angle, but this will be the first book to cover events from a research perspective. Core subjects such as consumer behaviour, authenticity and new technologies will be included, and the research angle will be covered by addressing key concepts, theories and discussions centring on these subjects. For example, how has this type of event developed, why has it become successful and what impact does it have? Case studies are also included to provide a well-rounded approach to the subject.
Handbook of Research Methods for Tourism and Hospitality Management by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781785366284Publication Date: 2018For the current multidisciplinary community of tourism and hospitality scholars, support for research methods has been disparate and uneven. In this Handbook, renowned experts fulfil a pressing need to outline, gather and resolve methodological issues within tourism and hospitality into one original, global and comprehensive work. With over 40 chapters by leading researchers, this Handbook allows for the exploration of new innovative ideas and presents future challenges in the field. Sharing their trusted methods and previous successes and failures, the authors cover various quantitative, qualitative and mixed-methods approaches, including sampling and knowledge transfer.
Diverse Perspectives
A collection of resources from diverse perspectives are discoverable through our Library catalogue, across all subject areas and specifically for tourism, hospitality, events and sport.
The collection is constantly growing and developing, and we encourage staff and students to help us to raise awareness of the materials available across the School and the wider university community.
The collection can be accessed here. Below are a selection of the texts available.
Doing Diversity in Museums and Heritage by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 3837664090Publication Date: 2023The museum and heritage sector has been shaken by debates over how to address colonialism, migration, Islamophobia, LGBTI+ and multiple other forms of difference. This major multi-researcher ethnography of museums and heritage in Berlin provides new insight into how ›diversity‹ is understood and put into action in museums and heritage. Exploring new initiatives and approaches, the book shows how these work - or do not - in practice. By doing so, it highlights ways forward - for research and action - for the future. The fieldwork locations on which this book is based include the Humboldt Forum, the Museum of Islamic Art, the Museum für Naturkunde, and the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, as well as Berlin streets and protests.
Queer Festivals by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9048532787Publication Date: 2018To what extent is queer anti-identitarian? And how is it experienced by activists at the European level? At queer festivals, activists, artists and participants come together to build new forms of sociability and practice their ideals through anti-binary and inclusive idioms of gender and sexuality. These ideals are moreover channelled through a series of organisational and cultural practices that aim at the emergence of queer as a collective identity. Through the study of festivals in Amsterdam, Berlin, Rome, Copenhagen, and Oslo, Queer Festivals: Challenging Collective Identities in a Transnational Europe thoughtfully analyses the role of activist practices in the building of collective identities for social movement studies as well as the role of festivals as significant repertoires of collective action and sites of identitarian explorations in contemporary Europe.
Queering Tourism by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9786611157883Publication Date: 2005From Sydney to Rome, Queering Tourism analyses the paradoxes of gay pride parades as tourist events, exploring how the public display of queer bodies - the way they look, what they do, who watches them, and under what regulations - is profoundly important in constructing sexualized subjectivities of bodies and cities.
Pink Tourism by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781845931193Publication Date: 2006This book presents a detailed picture of gay and lesbian tourism from, primarily, a marketing perspective and examines how marketing activity engages with and affects social issues relating to homosexuality. It gives an overview of the nature of homosexuality and relevant issues that bear upon tourism and marketing. Topics covered include holiday profiles of both gay men and lesbians; supply of related holiday products; popular and non-popular destinations; tour operators and accommodation provision; tourism and sex and sexually transmitted infections; barriers and inhibitors to choice including host reactions; appropriate marketing strategies.
Best Practice in Accessible Tourism by Call Number: 338.479108 BESISBN: 9781845412524Publication Date: 2012This volume presents an international selection of invited contributions on policy and best practice in accessible tourism, reflecting current practices across a range of destinations and business settings. It brings together global expertise in planning, design and management to inform and stimulate providers of travel, transport, accommodation, leisure and tourism services to serve guests with disabilities, seniors and the wider markets that require good accessibility. Accessible tourism is not only about providing access to people with disabilities but also addresses the creation of universally designed environments, services and information that can support people who may have temporary disabilities, families with young children, the ever-increasing ageing population, as well as creating safer work places for employees.
Tourism in the Muslim World by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9786612916168Publication Date: 2010Tourism in the Muslim World provides a synthesis of thought on an influential current issue for tourism and indeed for our times, and a point of focus for tourism researchers, managers and developers in countries such as the United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Egypt, Maldives and Turkey, as well as the Western world, eager to increase their share in this 1.5 billion strong tourist market. Its chapters raise conceptual, practical, and thought-provoking issues for the wider tourism community as it deals with the growth of new markets and destinations in a globalized economy. This collection of culturally and geographically diverse papers feature both Muslim and non-Muslim (country) insights on this international theme.
Accessible Tourism by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781845411626Publication Date: 2010Inclusion, disability, an ageing population and tourism are increasingly important areas of study due to their implications for both tourism demand and supply. This book therefore sets out to explore and document the current theoretical approaches, foundations and issues in the study of accessible tourism. In drawing together the contributions to this volume the editors have applied broader social constructionist approaches to understanding the accessible tourism phenomena. Accessible tourism, as with any area of academic study is an evolving field of academic research and industry practice. As with other areas of tourism, the field is multidisciplinary, and is influenced by various disciplines including geography, disability studies, economics, public policy, psychology and marketing.
Routledge Handbook of Tourism in Africa by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1351022547Publication Date: 2020This book provides a comprehensive and readable overview of the critical debates and controversies around tourism in Africa, and the major factors that are affecting tourism development now and in the future. Drawing upon research emerging from collaborations between a growing number of African academics and practitioners based in the continent and in the African diaspora as well as international colleagues, the Handbook offers key critical insights into the issues, challenges and trends that Africa and African tourism is facing.
Tourism and Gender: Embodiment, Sensuality and Experience by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1280953055Publication Date: 2007While contemporary popular discourses dismiss gender and feminism as passe, patriarchy and sexism continue to limit human possibilities around the globe. The tourism industry can be a force for empowerment but it can also shore up exploitative gendered practices. At the same time, tourism enquiry itself continues to be dominated by western, masculinist approaches. This collection of studies seeks to advance feminist and gender tourism studies with its focus on embodiment. Broad themes include the construction of narratives, how discourses of desire, sensuality and sexuality pervade the tourism experience, the use of the body to represent femininity, masculinity and sensuality, and finally how travel and tourism allow for empowerment, resistance and carnivalesque opportunities."
