Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture, Architectural Design and Technology, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Product Design and Urbanism

Welcome to the guide for Architecture, Architectural Design and Technology, Interior Design and Product Design. This guide highlights the key resources which can be used to support your research in these areas.

Architectural Design and Technology students, Product Design students, and any students looking for resources in the area of Engineering are encouraged also to consult the LibGuide for Engineering available here: Engineering and Construction Management 

Databases

Key Databases:

Other databases of interest:

Journals

Journal articles are an excellent source of information, particularly if your subject is quite specific or current (e.g. a recent building or contemporary architect).

The library subscribes to a number of architecture journals in print and electronic format. To search for a specific journal, search for its title within our library search. Print journals are held on the second floor of the library, arranged in alphabetical order by journal title.

Below is table of the key journals to which we provide recent access to. Please note though, we have many more journals available via our databases as well as the below. I.e. if you search in the databases you will find content from many more publications. Also note that print and online access does not always cover all years. Finally, also note that many of these journals have free content on their websites.

Journal Format
AA FILES Print only
ABITARE Print only
AIT: ARCHITEKTUR INNENARCHITEKTUR Print only
ARCHITECTS JOURNAL Print and online (online is not print layout) (Online access is via the Construction Information Service
ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN Print and online
ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY Print and online (online is print layout)
ARCHITECTURAL RECORD Print and online (online is print layout)
ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW Online only (online is print layout)
ARCHITECTURE AND URBANISM (A & U) Print only
ARK (ARKKITEHTI / FINNISH ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW) Print only
ARQ: ARCHITECTURAL RESEARCH QUARTERLY Print and online (online is print layout)
BAUMEISTER Print only
BUILDING DESIGN Print and online (online is print layout)
CASABELLA Print only
DETAIL Print only
DOMUS Print only
EL CROQUIS Print only
INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ARCHITECTURAL COMPUTING Print only
JOURNAL OF ARCHITECTURAL EDUCATION Print and online (online is print layout)
JOURNAL OF ARCHITECTURE Print and online (online is print layout)
LOTUS INTERNATIONAL Print only
TOPOS EUROPEAN LANDSCAPE MAGAZINE Print only
WALLPAPER Print only
WERK, BAUEN + WOHNEN Print only
VERNACULAR ARCHITECTURE Print and online (online is print layout)
WORLD OF INTERIORS Print only
QUADERNS D´ARQUITECTURA I URBANISME  WITHIN EUROPE Print only
RIBA JOURNAL Print and online (online is print layout)

Searching for journal articles

You can use library search  to see whether we have access to a particular journal. If you have a topic interest in mind we recommend searching within our databases to search across many journals at the same time. Although we have a variety of potentially useful databases, we especially recommend the Art, Design and Architecture Collection database, which indexes a number of journals in the area or architecture, interior design, urban planning, arts and cultural studies.


Architecture students and researchers may also wish to carry out a literature search on the RIBA website. Their online catalogue indexes articles from over 300 architectural journals and is free to use. This will enable you to discover relevant material which you can then check if we provide using Library Search. Note if you are searching for a particular journal you should search in Library Search with the journal's title, not the article's title.
 

 


Other resources

Maps

A set of Ordnance Survey maps dating from the mid-1960's and covering areas of London at scales 1:10,000, 1:2500 and 1:1250 can be found on the first floor of the library.

Up-to-date OS maps and mapping data is available from Digimap, which is free to use for UEL students and staff.

RIBA Collection

The RIBA Collection, located on the first floor of the library, includes product catalogues from building and design manufacturers.​