Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computing

Welcome to the Computing Guide. This guide highlights the key resources which can be used to support your research in these areas.

Databases and webpages useful for this subject area

Databases

There are several databases that are very useful in the area of computing. The databases we subscribe to give you access to expensive technical information journal articles, and e-books free of charge. Much of the information that you will find in these databases has been quality assured and peer reviewed.

Other databases

Searching for journal articles

You can use library search  to see whether we have access to a particular journal. If you have a topic interest in mind we recommend searching within our databases to search across many journals at the same time.

Books and ebooks

If you type your key word(s) into the Library Search, you will be able to find books and ebooks that match your search term(s). By looking at the shelf marks you can identify the section of books that generally covers that area. However, this is just a general guide. Books could be at many different shelf marks so it is always advisable to use the library search to find items. On the 1st floor, next to the library enquiry desk, you can find the Artists Section. The books are arranged alphabetically by the artist's surname.