Librarian
Welcome to the Land Surveying and Mapping Sciences Guide. This guide highlights the key resources which can be used to support your research in these areas.
Databases
There are several databases that are very useful in the area of Land Surveying and Mapping Sciences. The databases we subscribe to give you access to material such as expensive technical information, journal articles, and e-books free of charge. The information that you will find in these databases has been quality-assured and peer-reviewed. Much of it is available full-text and accessible from home (via Athens) or the University.
Key Databases
- British Standards OnlineSearchable database of British Standards, Eurocodes and International Standards (ISO).
- DigimapUp-to-date OS maps and geospatial data are available online from Digimap. You will need to sign in with your Athens account and then register with Digimap to use the service.
- ICE Virtual LibraryA comprehensive online resource from the Institution of Civil Engineers, which gives access to ICE journals and e-books that the Library subscribes to.
Other databases of interest
- ABI InformA useful database for business information, case studies and engineering management. Full text titles include Building Services Engineering Research & Technology, Engineering Management Journal, and Engineering Business Journal.
- EBSCO Academic Search CompleteThere are a number of journals on this database which relate to the field of surveying and mapping. Full text titles include Engineering Management, Land Use Law Report, and the Journal of Construction in Developing Countries.
- EBSCO GreenFILEIf you are interested in green issues related to surveying and mapping, you will find this database a useful source of information.
- EmeraldContains some useful content in the area of engineering management. Full text titles include Facilities, Property Management, Journal of Property Finance, Journal of Property Investment and Finance, Journal of Quality in Maintenance Engineering, and Structural Survey.
- IEEE XploreIncludes access to the IBM Journal of Research and Development, Bell Labs Technical Journal, the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (journals, standards, conference proceedings) and the IEEE-Wiley e-books library.
- NexisThis is a database for newspapers primarily, such as the Financial Times; however it does also have a large collection of industry related publications like Construction News.
- Science DirectA useful multidisciplinary database with some journals in the field of computer science.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research, covering over 20,000 journals from more than 5,000 publishers.